Theo Kgosinkwe - I Am

2009-03-07 07:04
 
I Am
 

This is where songwriter/composer/singer Theo seems to pick up the creative cues for his debut album. There is the same sense of diversity here, only now it speaks more to him as an individual and an artist, and whatever might have been shaded under the group’s banner, he now sways out into full view. His affinity for smooth jazz for example, and his re-take on the 90's R&B ballad. The aptly tilted I Am is an introduction to a musical personality, and the music Theo makes leaves nothing out in expressing his range and depth.

The album opens with "Usi sthandwa Sam", a flighty love song with a heavy marabi influence. It vividly recalls the groove of "Ndihamba Nawe" and should easily catch the attention of any Mafikizolo fan. The next few songs are similarly influenced and their sequencing, one after the other, isn't by coincidence. Theo's album is divided into three sections: songs with an Afro-pop feel make up the first; songs in the middle carry a smooth Afro-jazz/R&B vibe; the third section has a decidedly deep house groove. Theo reflects on love, beautiful people and the necessity of showing appreciation for one's blessings.

If there's a drawback, however, it has to be that the album doesn't offer enough variation lyrically. Though the music switches styles, Theo sticks to the same themes throughout the album. The lyrics then end up giving off a sense of repetitiveness and each section ends up sounding like either an Afro-pop or house variation of the same song.

But other than that, I Am is a solid release that should impress any fan of Afro-pop, kwaai-jazz, house and marabi-fuelled love anthems.

Eight years ago Mafikizolo entered the South African popular music scene as a band touting traditional music with a very house-y and accessible contemporary edge. Their hit first single, "Lotto", catapulted them onto the airwaves. Runaway singles "Ndihamba Nawe" and "Gug' Othandayo" followed in 2003, deviating from the dance-floor-ready house vibe to showcase the group's diversity and what would become their trademark sound: 60's sing-along Sophiatown-pop heavily infused with kwaito.

Goda 2009/02/18 2:06 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
This album isn't bad. But four stars? NO way...
Sibusiso 2009/03/05 8:46 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
its rocking baba noways it deserves five stars but the problem i cant see its video on youtube i have searched the site but hte are no results for this albunot even a single video please post some videos on youtube so that we can be able to watch them online
Mabatho 2009/03/17 10:58 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
It is truly a beautiful album, with all the tracks super rocking. My favourite track - Umphathe Kahle. Well done
Ntshuxeko 2009/04/15 1:23 PM
its rock n this album is beautiful,my favourite track SOHLALA STHANDANA and MAFIKIZOLO4LIFE.gudlucky on the sama award
Ntshuxeko 2009/04/15 1:26 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
its rock n this album is beautiful,my favourite track SOHLALA STHANDANA and MAFIKIZOLO4LIFE.gudlucky on the sama award
Ntshuxeko 2009/04/15 1:27 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
its rock n this album is beautiful,my favourite track SOHLALA STHANDANA and MAFIKIZOLO4LIFE.gudlucky on the sama award
Ntshuxeko 2009/04/15 1:27 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
its rock n this album is beautiful,my favourite track SOHLALA STHANDANA and MAFIKIZOLO4LIFE.gudlucky on the sama award
kgomotso 2009/04/25 3:00 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
ll always support u my brother and gud luck on d SAMAs,n 4 sure u gonna win coz i spent R10 evryday votin 4 u,ndihanbela phezulu,Usis'tandwa sami and ngiyabonga my bests!!!
kgomotso 2009/05/04 9:34 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
well done my dear,bt i wanted u 2 get both awards.bt its fine.
MAHLATSE 2009/05/13 4:34 PM
THE ALBUM IS DIFENTLY ROCKING,I LOVE TRACK 1,3,HALALA,NDIHAMBELA PHEZULU
RABAPANE MAHLATSE 2009/05/13 4:44 PM
WELL DONE OATLEGILE S FATHER ALBUM YA GAGO E YA ROCKA AND I LOVE THE WHOLE ALBUM AND I HAVE BOUGHT UR ALBUM ND I"M NOT REGRETING.BIG UP TO LENYORA LAKA,I WISH U THE BEST OF LUCK ON RECORD COMPANY (BLACK DIAMOND RECORDS)I"M UR NUMBER 1 FAN.I GIVE YOU 5STARS
SNENHLANHLA 2009/05/18 2:16 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
HEY MAN JUST WANTED TELL YOU THAT YOU ROCK MFWETHU AND WISH THAT UNGAQUBEKA NJALO WENZE KANJE.BYE IMPILO ENDE
Danielle 2009/05/22 5:44 PM
OMG...I'm doing a project on you for school,it's cool. your a cool artist. keep it up:)
Ronny 2009/05/23 10:49 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Hey,i love it's briliant i play it everyday.you are a unique and good artist well done brother keep it up.my favourite songs is the whole album.God bless you.
boniwe dlamini 2009/05/27 1:19 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
hey baba yr album is rocking nowyas it u deservers five star Well done baba
Lebo 2009/06/10 8:57 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
A true talent. Inspirational.
Tebogo 2009/06/10 8:58 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I agree with Mabatho. Theo is a true black diamond.
Kuni 2009/06/10 12:04 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Good album Ntate. He was also a good soccer player in his days. His Nickname was "Ntate".
Bangani 2009/06/16 11:26 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I'm so taken by your album it rocks bra keep it up boss, lastly Uhambela phezulu nyani mfwethu, Theo sis' khokho but not se papa!.
Nondumiso 2009/06/18 10:51 AM
it is a beautiful album my favourite track ndihambela phezulu i love u theo u rock keep it up
NEXT ON CHANNELX
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.