In partnership with

MAMAs 2016: The winners of the annual MTV Africa Music Awards were announced during a glitzy ceremony

Meet Iain Thomas, the 36-year-old South African poet who is famous all over the world except in SA

The SAMA nominations

2006-07-13 16:21

The pick of the major releases have been recognised, and the judges (they vote in secret) will no doubt follow their own hearts. But what do you think? Read these through and have your say.

Best Female Artist
Judith Sephuma - New Beginnings
Lebo Mathosa - Lioness
Pebbles - Playful Soul
Rebecca - Qaphelani
Sibongile Khumalo

Best Male Artist
Andile Yenana - Who's Got The Map?
Arno Carstens - The Hello Goodbye Boys
Jimmy Dludlu - Corners Of My Soul
Jonathan Butler - Jonathan
Selaelo Selota - Stories Lived And Told

Best Duo or Group
Bongo Maffin - New Construction
Joyous Celebration - Joyous 9
Malaika - Vuthelani
Revolution - Roots
Wessel Van Rensburg & Mccoy Mrubata – Kulturation

Best Tsonga Music (XiTsonga) Album:
Doctor Sithole - A Vukatini A Zimbabwe
George Maluleke - Misava Yi Hava Kurhula
Matshwa Bemuda & Magenge Sisters - Chom Na Chom No. 09
Thomas Chauke - Xidudla Kedibone
Thomas Gezane Mzamani - Va Hi Vitana Swi Street Kids
Best Maskandi Album
Bhekumuzi Luthuli - Impempe
Inkunzi Emdaka - Siyangena Thina
Mfiliseni Magubane - Uqanduqandu
Phuzekhemisi - Sthandwa
Thokozani - Ipeni Nephepha

Best Newcomer
Brickz - Face-brick
Kwani Experience - Birth Of The Mudaland Funk
Prokid - Heads And Tales
Tuks Senganga - Mafoko A Me
Wikid - Anger Management

Best Music Video
Dre - Freshlyground - Doo Be Doo
Neil Simpson - Freshlyground - Id Like
Mosese Semenya - Prokid - Wozobona
Lara Hollis - Zamajobe - Magic
Lara Hollis - Zamajobe - Ndawo Yami

Best Instrumental Album
Andile Yenana - Who's Got The Map?
Bazwaana - Newtown Breeze
Guy Buttery - Songs From The Cane Fields
Tony Cox - Live At The Grahamstown Festival
Wessel Van Rensburg & Mccoy Mrubata – Kulturation

Best Jazz Album
Andile Yenana - Who's Got The Map?
Jimmy Dludlu - Corners Of My Soul
Judith Sephuma - New Beginnings
Robbie Jansen - Nomad Jêz
Sylvester Mazinyane - Down South
Best Kwaito Album
Brickz - Face-brick
Spikiri - Gangstas Party
Spikiri - Simply The Best
Thebe - Lenyora
Zola – Ibutho

Best Adult Contemporary Album - English
Arno Carstens - The Hello Goodbye Boys
Clout - Since We've Been Gone
Faryl Purkiss - Chapter One
Louise Carver - Silent Scream
Watershed - Mosaic

Best Adult Contemporary Album - Afrikaans
Anna Davel - Godinne Op Die Grondpad
Chris Chameleon - Ek Herhaal Jou
Karen Zoid - Media
Lize Beekman - Draadkar Oor Die See
Theuns Jordaan – Seisoen

Best Adult Contemporary Album: African
Jabu Khanyile - Hiyo Lento
Jeff Maluleke - Ndzilo
Ntando - Imvelaphi
Phinda - Mbheka Phesheya
Tsepo Tshola - Winding Rivers & Waterfalls

Best Pop Album
Etienne Steyn - Storie Van My Hart
Kurt Darren - Vat My, Maak My Joune
Lonehill Estate - Take It All
Nicholis Louw - Rock Daai Lyfie
Watershed – Mosaic

Best African Pop Album
Kelly Khumalo - Tko
Malaika - Vuthelani
Ntando - Imvelaphi
Speedy - Evolution

Best Rock Album
Arno Carstens - The Hello Goodbye Boys
Karen Zoid - Media
Seether - Karma And Effect
The Narrow - Travellers
The Parlotones – Radiocontrolledrobot

Best R&B Album
Camagu - Uhambo
Ishmael - Long Way Home
Pebbles - Playful Soul
S. Davies - Soul Connection
Unathi - My First Time

Best Dance Album
Black Coffee
Dj Christos - Spiritual Journey 2
Dj Cleo - Es'khaleni Ext. 2
Kb - El Musica
Skizo - House Rules

Best Rap Album
H2o - Sheleni
Hip Hop Pantsula - Yba To Nw
Prokid - Heads And Tales
Slikour - Ventilation Mixtape Vol. 1
Tuks Senganga - Mafoko A Me

Best Contemporary Gospel Album
Benjamin Dube - You Blessed Me Still
Jay Hlungwani - Praise
Joyous Celebration - Joyous 9
Mthunzi Namba - Restoration Hour
Soweto String Quartet - Plays Gospel

Best African/Traditional Gospel Album
Deborah - Giloria
Jabu Hlongwane - Iyeza
Lusanda Spiritual Group - Umoya Wenkosi
Rebecca - Qaphelani
Solly Moholo - Moruti Nthapelele

Best Producer
Brian O'Shea on Arno Carstens - The Hello Goodbye Boys
Jimmy Dludlu & Camillo Lombard on Jimmy Dludlu - Corners Of My Soul
Laurence Matshiza on Judith Sephuma - New Beginnings
Peter Mclea on Sibongile Khumalo - Sibongile
Wessel van Rensburg & McCoy Mrubata on Wessel Van Rensburg & Mccoy Mrubata – Kulturation

Best Engineer
Fernando Perdigao for Jimmy Dludlu - Corners Of My Soul
Jasper Williams for Judith Sephuma - New Beginnings
John Linderman and Neil Snyman for Karen Zoid - Media
Marius Brouwer for Niemand - Reborn
Evert de Munnik for Sibongile Khumalo

Best DVD
Brenda - The Brenda Fassie Story & Videos
Drie Van Die Bestes - Live In Die Paarl
Mic - Moving Pictures
Moses Taiwa Molelekwa - Live At The Fin De Siecle Festival Nantes 1997
Nádine - Nádine 10 Years

Best Popular Song of the Year
Ntando - Dali Wam
Brickz - Sweety my Baby
Malaika - Muntuzu (2 Bob)
Spikiri - Current
DJ Cleo - The Goodbye Song
Revolution - Light of My Life
Kelly Khumalo - Qinisela
Thebe - Safety Belt
Tzozo & Professor - Woza Durban
DJ Bongs - Sobabili

Most Popular Artist of the Year
Judith Sephuma
Jimmy Dludlu
Arno Carstens
Andile Yenana
Karen Zoid

What do you think of the nominations?
The noms for South Africa's own music awards have been announced.
NEXT ON CHANNEL24X publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Recent News

In the seventh episode of the Channel24 Coffee Break series, Just Jinjer frontman Ard Matthews stopped by Channel24 to jam a few songs and talk to us about his new album and band as well as overcoming his National Anthem upset. Read More »

Are they VanFokkingTasties?

2012-05-03 09:27

The lads talk life, love...and their new album. Read More »

inside channel 24

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.