Big winners on first night of SAMA19

2013-05-11 13:20
SAMA19 Mi Casa Lira
Johannesburg - SA Idols winner Khaya, Mi Casa, Jax Panix and Lira were some of the big names to walk away with awards on the first night of the 19th Annual MTN South African Music Awards (SAMA19) at the Sun City Superbowl.

The curtain raiser on Friday night was hosted by comedian Tumi Morake and focused on recognising "sales prowess and technical brilliance" ahead of the main SAMAs show on Saturday.

The first night of the show saw Lifetime Achievement Awards presented by the renowned Vusi Mahlasela and Ray Phiri to three legendary icons in the South African music industry: Dr Thomas Chauke, Sizwe Zako and posthumously to Johannes Kerkorrel.

Heavenly Sent

Crowd-pleasing house trio Mi Casa walked away with the SAMPRA award – the award given to the most played song on local radio – for their hit song Heavenly Sent. The track is also one of the five finalists in line to win the coveted Record of the Year award on Saturday night.

SA Idols winner Khaya picked up the coveted Best R&B/Soul/Reggae Album award for For You, while Afrikaans musician Theuns Jordaan won Best Selling Album for Roeper.

Songbird Lira scooped the Best Live DVD for her The Captured Tour Concert Film, while DJ Kent picked up the Remix of the Year gong for his remix of the hit Theo Kgosinkwe track, Thinking About You Ft. Zonke.

Jax Panix was rewarded for his work on Toya Delazy's debut album Due Drop Deluxe with the Best Producer award, while former Mean Mr Mustard frontman Mark Beling picked up the statuette for Best Engineer for the album Strong by female adult contemporary trio BlackByrd.

Some of the live performances on the night came courtesy of Zahara, Riot, BlackByrd, Lindiwe Maxolo, Dr Thomas Chauke na Shinyori Sisters, Sizwe Zako, Hlengiwe Mhlaba, Teddy Bears, L'vovo Derrango and Professor.

Elvis Blue also paid tribute to the late Johannes Kerkorrel with a performance.

The main SAMA19 show takes place on Saturday, 11 May and will be streamed online and broadcast live on SABC1 at 20:30 from the Sun City Superbowl.

Full list of Friday night winners of SAMA19:

Lifetime Achievement Awards
Johannes Kerkorrel (posthumously)
Sizwe Zako
Dr Thomas Chauke

Best R&B/Soul/Reggae Album
Khaya - For You

Best Alternative Album
iScream & The Chocolate Stix - The Paradox

Best Classic & Instrumental Album
CH2 CH 2 Guitar Duo Live with the University of Pretoria Symphony Orchestra

Best Contemporary Faith Music Album
Ntokozo Mbambo - Filled

Best Producer
Jax Panik -Due Drop Deluxe (Toya Delazy)

Best Engineer
Mark Beling - Strong (BlackByrd) 

Best Music Video of the Year
Claudio Pavan - Honey Spiders (The Parlotones) 

Remix of the Year
DJ Kent - Thinking about You Ft. Zonke DJ Kent Remix (Theo Kgosinkwe)   

Best Live DVD
The Captured Tour Concert Film - Lira

Best Selling DVD
Vol. 16 Live at Carnival City - Joyous Celebration

Best Selling Album
Roeper - Theuns Jordaan

Best Selling Tru-Tone
Follow Me - DJ Cleo ft. Teddy Bears

Best Selling Ring-Back-Tone
Loliwe - Zahara

Best Selling Full-Track Download
You're The Voice Shout/J23 - Artists for a safer South Africa

Heavenly Sent - Mi Casa publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.