Channel24 interviews SA director, Oliver Schmitz, about his new film, Shepherds and Butchers

Dr Luke has refuted allegations that he abused Kesha by "pressuring" her into starving herself

Posthumous Winehouse album planned

2011-10-31 15:02
Amy Winehouse

London - A new album of unheard Amy Winehouse material is to be released in December.

Amy Winehouse Lioness: Hidden Treasures features never before heard songs by the Back to Black singer - who died unexpectedly in July as she was working on her third album - as well as her versions of other people's songs collected from recordings made throughout her career.

Among the songs included on the album are original Between the Cheats, an emotional track about her ex-husband Blake Fielder-Civil, and cover A Song for You - made famous by Donny Hathaway - which Amy recorded in a single take while recovering from drug addiction in 2009.

After listening back to the album for the first time, Amy's father, Mitch, told The Sun newspaper: "I spent so much time chasing after Amy - telling her off - that I never realised what a true genius she was.

'Incredibly beautiful'

"It wasn't until I sat down with the rest of the family and listened to this album that I fully appreciated the breadth of her talent. From jazz standards to hip-hop songs, it took my breath away.

"One of the new songs on the album, Halftime, I'd never heard before. It is just incredibly beautiful."

The album has been put together by Salaam Remi and Mark Ronson, producers who had worked with Amy on her two albums, Frank, and Back to Black. They listened to thousands of hours of vocals recorded by the singer in order to pick out the songs for inclusion on the record.

Salaam said: "When I listened back you would hear some of the conversations in between - that was emotional. I believe she has left something beyond her years. She has put a body of work together that will inspire an unborn generation.

"I'm blessed to be part of that process, to have known that person and to continue her legacy with this album."

The album will be released on December 5, and £1 from every sale will go to the newly established Amy Winehouse Foundation, which is helping a number of children's charities.

The full Amy Winehouse Lioness: Hidden Treasures tracklisting:

1. Our Day Will Come (Reggae Version) - Cover of a doo-wop standard

2. Between the Cheats - Previously unreleased new song

3. Tears Dry - Original ballad version of Tears Dry on Their Own

4. Wake up Alone - March 2006 demo

5. Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow - Cover of Shirelles song

6. Valerie - Slower version of track recorded with Mark Ronson

7. Like Smoke featuring Nas - Previously unreleased new song

8. The Girl from Ipanema - Cover of bossa nova standard

9. Halftime - Previously unreleased new song

10. Best Friends - February 2003 recording

11. Body and Soul with Tony Bennett - Cover of jazz standard

12. A Song for You - Cover of Leon Russell song recorded spring 2009

Read more on:    amy winehouse  |  celebrities  |  music

Your Halloween gig guide

2016-10-28 15:07 publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Recent News

Your Halloween gig guide

2016-10-28 15:07

Keen to get dressed up and listen to some awesome tunes? Then click here! Read More »

Kings of Leon - which includes brothers Caleb Followill, Nathan Followill and Jared Followill and their cousin Matthew Followill - are set to perform at the MTV EMAs. Read More »

inside channel 24

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.