Local magazine publishes rare modelling photos of Reeva Steenkamp taken just months before her death

Orlando Bloom reportedly jumped over a sofa to get to Justin Bieber after he provoked him at a restaurant

Lena Dunham gets 7-figure book deal

2012-10-09 09:16
 
Lena Dunham

New York - Girls creator Lena Dunham has a seven-figure book deal with Random House.

The 26-year-old Dunham, who received Emmy nominations as producer, director, writer and actress on the HBO comedy, has an agreement for the essay collection Not That Kind of Girl: A Young Woman Tells You What She's Learned.

"In the tradition of Helen Gurley Brown, David Sedaris and Nora Ephron, Dunham's book will offer frank and funny advice on everything from sex to eating to traveling to work," Random House said in an announcement on Monday.

Dunham said in statement that she was eager "to produce the most thoughtful and personal book" she could.

Random House spokesperson Theresa Zoro said that no publication date has been set.

Numerous publishers bid for the book.

Random House declined to offer financial details, but several competitors have said bidding exceeded $3.5m.

- AP

Read more on:    lena dunham  |  tv  |  books  |  celebrities  |  girls
NEXT ON CHANNEL24X

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining
 

Recent News

An Ohio amusement park ride that swings riders as high as 38m has been closed indefinitely after a cable snapped, injuring two visitors. Read More »

A former British tabloid reporter has been given a 10-month suspended prison sentence for his role in the phone hacking scandal that shook Rupert Murdoch's media empire. Read More »

inside channel 24

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.