2013 MTN Radio Awards: The winners

2013-04-15 15:09
Cape Town – The best of SA radio was honoured at the 4th Annual MTN Radio Awards during a gala event at the Sandton Convetion Centre in Johannesburg on Saturday.

Kicking off in 2010, the MTN Radio Awards sets out to recognise the talent and hard work on air and behind the scenes of South Africa's commercial, public broadcasting, community and campus radio stations.

Big winners of the night included Eastern Cape radio station Algoa FM who walked away with two presenter awards in commercial radio categories as well as Ukhozi fm, who once again emerged as the station of the year.

Herewith a list of winners for the 4th Annual MTN Radio Awards:

Public Broadcasting Station of the Year
Ukhozi FM

Campus Station of the Year
Tuks FM

Community Station of the Year
Radio Khwezi

Commercial Station of the Year
Kaya fm

Breakfast Show Winners
Campus - Tuks FM, The Bang-Bang Breakfast
Community – Radio Islam, Sabuhal Muslim
Public Broadcasting Station - Ukhozi fm, Vuka Msanzi
Commercial - Kaya fm, 180 with Bob Mabena

Breakfast Presenter Winners
Campus - Alex Caige, Tuks FM
Community – Makhosi Maphumulo, Radio Khwezi
Public Broadcasting Station Winner – Zaid Bhoola, Lotus FM
Commercial - Daron Mann, Algoa FM

Afternoon Drive Presenter Winners
Campus – Nolz v d Merwe, Tuks FM
Community – Siphila Ngomusa, Radio Khwezi
Public Broadcasting Station – Ba2cada Leine, Lesedi FM
Commercial – David O' Sullivan, Talk Rdaio 702

Afternoon Drive Show Winners
Campus – MFM, The Drive on MFM 92.6
Community - Radio Tygerberg, Vuurvas
Public Broadcasting Station - Ukhozi fm, Sibonakaliso
Commercial – 5FM,  TheFreshDrive

Daytime Show Winners
Campus  – PUK fm, New Music Space
Community – Inanda FM, Sivubela Isizwe
Public Broadcasting Station – Umhlobo Wenene FM, SJL Radio
Commercial – Jacaranda fm, The Workzone with Barney Simon

News and Actuality Presenter Winners
Community and Campus Winner – Nothile Zwane, Radio Khwezi
Public Broadcasting Station – Ashraf Garda,  SAfm
Commercial Winner – John Perlman, Kaya fm

News Bulletin Reader Winners
Campus – Sydney King, TuksFM
Community – Zithobile Mthandeki, Radio Zibonele
Public Broadcasting Station – Nokwazi Mbhele, Ukhozi Fm
Commercial – Bobby Brown, 567 Cape Talk

News and Actuality Producer Winners
Community and Campus – Percy Lamani, KQFM
Public Broadcasting Station – Mia Malan and Darren Taylor, Nongezi se Reis, Radio Sonder Grense
Commercial  – Deryn Plutsick and Thabisile Mbete, Talk Radio 702

News and Actuality Show Winners
Community - Radio Khwezi, Sakha Isizwe
Public Broadcasting Station  – Lotus fm, Newsbreak
Commercial – METRO FM

Weekend Radio Show Winners
Campus - PUK FM, Worship with David
Community – Impact Radio, CenterStage
Public Broadcasting Station – SAfm, Intune SAfm
Commercial – 5FM, 5FM Top 40 with Sureshnie Rider

Drama Programme Winners
Community – Radio Tygerberg,  Lappiesmous
Public Broadcasting Station – Munghana Lonene FM, Mina ha Mina

Content Producer Winners
Community and Campus - Yusuf Moosagie, Radio Islam
Public Broadcasting Station – Keabetswe Essence Moumakwe, Motsweding FM
Commercial – Bruce Hong, 567 Cape Talk

Night Time Show Winners
Campus – Tuks FM, The Solid State
Community – Bay FM, The Late Night Ride
Public Broadcasting Station – Radio 2000, One Night Stand with the King
Commercial – Kaya fm, Home with Mapaseka Mokwele

Music Show Winners
Community – Soshanguve Community Radio, Ingcwenga Yokholo
Campus Winner – James Nevin from Tuks FM, Top 30 with James Nevin
Public Broadcasting Station – Ukhozi fm, Sigiya Ngengoma
Commercial, Algoa FM, Wayne HartSA, Top 30 with Wayne Hart

Sports Show Winners
Campus – UJ FM, The Sports Network
Public Broadcasting Station – SAfm, Sports Special
Commercial - METRO FM, 083 Sports @ 6

Lifetime Achiever 2013
Koos Radebe

Business and Finance Show
567 CapeTalk and Talk Radio 702, The Money Show

Traffic Presenter
Jadene Tager, Talk Radio 702

Sports Commentator
Sabelo Zulu, LigwalagwalaFM

Radio Documentary
Ikwekwezi FM, Ubikhazi/Cattle Dowry

Programme Innovation
Ukhozi FM, Ukhozi Meets Community Radio

Community Presenter
Thabo Mdluli, Impact Radio

Read more on:    mtn  |  talk radio 702  |  5fm  |  safm  |  kaya fm  |  dj fresh  |  johannesburg ­  |  radio  |  celebrities

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.