2013 SAFTA nominees: The movies

2013-02-14 09:16
Johannesburg - The nominees for the 7th annual South African Film and Television Awards have been revealed in Johannesburg. Here is a full list of all the film nominees.

The winners will be announced at a double ceremony on 15 and 16 March at Gallagher Estate in Johannesburg, reports TVSA.

2013 SAFTA Film nominees:

Best Director of a Feature Film

Katinka Heyns - Die Wonderwerker (The Miracle Worker)
Craig Freimond - Material
Wayne Thornley - Adventures in Zambezia
Darrell James Roodt - Little One

Best Actor in a Feature Film

Thomas Gumede as New Year in Otelo Burning
Nico Panagio as JP in Semi-Soet
Jack Devnarain as Ronnie in 31 Million Reasons
Dawid Minnaar as Eugene in Die Wonderwerker (The Miracle Worker)
Riaad Moosa as Cassim in Material

Best Actress in a Feature Film

Lindiwe Ndlovu as Pauline in Little One
Nolwazi Shange as Dezi in Otelo Burning
Jayashree Basava as Padma in Lucky
Elize Cawood as Maria in Die Wonderwerker (The Miracle Worker)

Best Supporting Actor in a Feature Film

Mpho Osei-Tutu as Bomba - A Million Colours
Vincent Ebrahim as Ebrahim - Material
Louw Venter as Hertjie - Semi-Soet
Marius Weyers as Gys - Die Wonderwerker (The Miracle Worker)

Best Supporting Actress in a Feature Film

Denise Newman as Fatima in Material
Matshepo Maleme as Busi in A Million Colours
Anneke Weidemann as Jane in Die Wonderwerker (The Miracle Worker)

Best Writing Team of a Feature Film

Chris Barnard - Die Wonderwerker (The Miracle Worker)
Craig Freimond - Material
James Whyle and the cast workshop - Otelo Burning
Darrell James Roodt - Little One

Best Cinematographer of a Feature Film

Koos Roets -  Die Wonderwerker (The Miracle Worker)
Trevor Brown - A Million Colours
Trevor Calverley - Material

Best Editor of a Feature Film

Ronelle Loots - Die Wonderwerker (The Miracle Worker)
Aryan Kaganof - Man on Ground
Megan Gill - Material

Best Production Designer of a Feature Film

Francois Coetzee - Semi-Soet
Jackie Lotz - Zama Zama
Anita van Hermet, Chantal Carter - Otelo Burning
Bathoni Robinson - Pretville

Best Music Composition

Orangotang Music and Michael Bester - Semi-Soet
Zethu Mashika - Zama Zama
Tiago Correia Paulo, Alan Lazar - Otelo Burning
Bruce Retief - Adventures in Zambezia

Best Costume Designer

Nerine Pienaar - Semi-Soet
Mia Zwiegers - Zama Zama
Ruy Filipe - Otelo Burning
Nerine Pienaar - Pretville

Best Make up/Hair Stylist

Theola Booyens - Semi-Soet
Elzette Winterbach - To the Power of Anne
Charlie Runge, Lee-Anne Nourse - Pretville

Best Sound Designer of a Feature Film

Barry Donnelly - Die Wonderwerker (The Miracle Worker)
Jim Petrak - Semi-Soet
Charlotte Buys - Material

Best Feature Film

Die Wonderwerker (The Miracle Worker) - Sonneblom Ateljees (pty) Ltd
Material - Zukrafin Pty Ltd
Otelo Burning - Cinga Productions
Semi-Soet - Scramble Productions

Best Student Film

E-lectricity - AFDA: Etienne Fourie, Robyn Oetle
LYFSTRAF - AFDA: Rudi Steyn, Martina Della Togna, Gianfranco Human, Sarah Muhoho
Die Windpomp - AFDA: Miklas Manneke, Jade Galbraith

Best Short Film

Umkhungo - Matthew Jankes
Loot - Greg Rom
There are no Heroes - Kyle Stevenson

Best Animation

I've Got a Lovely Bunch of Coconuts - Jungle Beat Sunrise Productions
Adventures In Zambezia - Triggerfish Animation Studios
ZA NEWS - Both Worlds

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.