Critics' Choice favours Black Swan

2010-12-14 16:31
Los Angeles - Black Swan has scooped 12 nominations at the 16th annual Critics' Choice Movie Awards.

The Darren Aronofsky-directed movie - which features Natalie Portman and Mila Kunis as ballet rivals, and is considered an early frontrunner for Oscar success - beat both The King's Speech and True Grit, which managed 11 nominations each.

Black Swan has gained nods in the Best Picture category as well as Best Actress, Best Supporting Actress and Best Director.

Others fighting out for the Best Picture award include Danny Boyle's 127 Hours, Mark Wahlberg's forthcoming movie The Fighter, Christopher Nolan's Inception, The King's Speech, The Town, The Social Network, Toy Story 3, True Grit and Winter's Bone.

British actress Chloe Moretz has been nominated twice for her acting skills in the Best Young Actor/Actress category for her roles in Let Me In and Kick-Ass.

Mike Leigh's Another Year was among the nominees for Best Original Screenplay alongside The King's Speech, Black Swan, The Fighter, The Kids Are All Right and Inception.

The winners will be announced at the Hollywood Palladium in Los Angeles on January 14, 2011.

Partial list of nominees for the 16th annual Critics' Choice Movie Awards:

Best Picture
127 Hours
Black Swan
The Fighter
The King's Speech
The Social Network
The Town
Toy Story 3
True Grit
Winter's Bone

Best Actor
Jeff Bridges -True Grit
Robert Duvall - Get Low
Jesse Eisenberg - The Social Network
Colin Firth - The King's Speech
James Franco - 127 Hours'
Ryan Gosling - Blue Valentine

Best Actress
Annette Bening - The Kids Are All Right
Nicole Kidman - Rabbit Hole
Jennifer Lawrence - Winter's Bone
Natalie Portman - Black Swan
Noomi Rapace - The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo
Michelle Williams - Blue Valentine

Best Supporting Actor
Christian Bale - The Fighter
Andrew Garfield - The Social Network
Jeremy Renner - The Town
Sam Rockwell - Conviction
Mark Ruffalo - The Kids Are All Right
Geoffrey Rush - The King's Speech

Best Supporting Actress
Amy Adams - The Fighter
Helena Bonham Carter - The King's Speech
Mila Kunis - Black Swan
Melissa Leo - The Fighter
Hailee Steinfeld - True Grit
Jacki Weaver - Animal Kingdom

Best Young Actor/Actress
Elle Fanning - Somewhere
Jennifer Lawrence - Winter's Bone
Chloe Grace Moretz - Let Me In
Chloe Grace Moretz - Kick-Ass
Kodi Smit-McPhee - Let Me In
Hailee Steinfeld - True Grit
Best Director
Darren Aronofsky - Black Swan
Danny Boyle - 127 Hours
Joel Coen & Ethan Coen - True Grit
David Fincher - The Social Network
Tom Hooper - The King's Speech
Christopher Nolan - Inception

Best Original Screenplay
Another Year - Mike Leigh
Black Swan - Mark Heyman, Andres Heinz and John McLaughlin
The Fighter - Scott Silver, Paul Tamasy and Eric Johnson (Story by Keith Dorrington, Paul Tamasy and Eric Johnson)
Inception - Christopher Nolan
The Kids Are All Right - Lisa Cholodenko and Stuart Blumberg
The King's Speech - David Seidler

Best Adapted Screenplay
127 Hours - Simon Beaufoy and Danny Boyle
The Social Network - Aaron Sorkin
The Town - Ben Affleck, Peter Craig and Sheldon Turner
Toy Story 3 - Michael Arndt (Story by John Lasseter, Andrew Stanton and Lee Unkrich)
True Grit - Joel Coen and Ethan Coen
Winter's Bone - Debra Granik and Anne Rosellini