Meet the new film academy members

2015-06-29 15:27

Los Angeles — Kevin Hart, David Oyelowo, Common, Benedict Cumberbatch and Emma Stone are now members of the film academy.

Academy president Cheryl Boone Isaacs announced the names of 322 new members Friday, calling them a more diverse and inclusive list of filmmakers and artists than ever before.

Other new members include Sergio Mendes, Elizabeth Banks, John Legend, Gugu Mbatha-Raw and Dope director Rick Famuyiwa.

Academy membership is by invitation only. Oscar nominees are automatically invited; others must be sponsored by two members of their branch of filmmaking.

The nearly 6,000-member group has long been criticized for its largely white, male membership.

An all-white roster of acting nominees at the most recent Academy Awards inspired the hashtag #OscarsSoWhite on social media and increased scrutiny of the lack of diversity in the ranks of the organisation. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.