You get an Oscar! You get an Oscar! Everyone gets an Oscar!

2013-09-06 11:55
Honorary Oscars
Los Angeles - And the honorary Academy Awards go to — Angelina Jolie, Steve Martin, Angela Lansbury and Italian costume designer Piero Tosi.

The film academy announced on Thursday that Jolie will receive the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award, while Martin, Lansbury and Tosi will get Oscars recognising their career achievements.

The celebrity with a heart of gold

The Changeling actress has received lots of recognition for her humanitarian and charity work, having received the UN's Citizen of the World Award and the Freedom Award from the International Rescue Committee.

Angelina is very involved in the rights and protection of women and children in third world countries, especially conflict victims, and has been a UNHCR Goodwill Ambassador since 2001.

Angelina Jolie

The Oscars host gets his own

Steve started out as a stand-up comedian and went on to become one of the most successful comedy actors in the entertainment industry. He has hosted the Academy Awards three times and this will be his first Oscar.

The funny man also has a few Grammys in the bag for his banjo-playing.

Biggest loser finally wins

Tony-award winning acting legend Angela is finally receiving her first Oscar despite being nominated three times for Best Supporting Actress. She also holds the record for most Emmy losses, having been nominated 18 times in her career.

Her most well-known work is the 12-season-running mystery series Murder, She Wrote.

Angela Lansbury

Designer with flair

Piero is viewed as one of the most iconic costume designers in film, having worked on Italian films like Bellissima, La Traviata and The Night Porter. The 86-year-old has also been involved with hair, make-up and set design, proving his wide range of skills, and has been nominated for an Academy Award five times.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences' Board of Governors voted on the recipients of the honorary Oscars earlier this week. The awards will be presented at an untelevised ceremony on 16 November at Hollywood & Highland Center's Ray Dolby Ballroom. publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.