All the winners at DIFF 2016

2016-06-27 10:17

Durban - The Durban International Film Festival announced the winners at the closing ceremony of the festival’s 37th edition at the Playhouse on Saturday, 26 June.  

The award for the Best Feature Film went to The Violin Player directed by Bauddhayan Mukherji. 

The award for Best South African Feature Film went to Tess, directed by Meg Rickards, which the jury described as “a measured and uncompromising debut feature.”

See the trailer here:

The Best Documentary award went to Martha and Niki directed by Tora Mkandawire Martens, which the jury describes as “visual feast that skillfully intertwines a profound reflection on (an) art form with the inner journey of two compelling characters.”

The jury made a special mention of Action Commandante, also a former Durban FilmMart project, by Nadine Cloete, for “its exceptional quality and commitment to its subject matter.”

The Best SA Documentary went to The Journeymen, directed by Sean Metelerkamp. 

Best Short Film went to Grandma's Day (Dzie'n Babci) directed by Milosz Sakowski. The jury also made special mention in this category of the film Ave Maria directed by Basil Khalil.

The Best African Short Film Award, which is supported by the Gauteng Film Commission, went to New Eyes directed by Hiwot Admasu.

eKhaya (Home), directed by Shubham Mehta won the Best South African Short Film award, which is also supported by the Gauteng Film Commission.

The shorts jury also made special mention of two other films in this category - Amagugu directed by Ndududo Shandu and Discovery of Fire directed by Gerhard Pretorius.

The Best Actor Award went to Mohsen Namjoo for his performance in Radio Dream, directed by Babak Jalali. The award for Best Actress went to Christia Visser for her role as Tess in Tess directed by Meg Rickards.

The awards for Best Direction went to Ciro Guerra for Embrace Of The Serpent, Best Cinematography to Chris Lotz for The Endless River and Best Screenplay went to Ciro Guerra and Thoedor Koch-Grunberg for Embrace of The Serpent.

A new award, the Best Editing , sponsored by SAGE (South Africa Guild of Editors), went to the to Tess which was edited by Linda Man. The award for Artistic Bravery was given to Neon Bull directed by Gabriel Mascaro for its unique portrayal of a little-known community of Brazilian Rodeo workers.

The Amnesty International Durban Human Rights Award for the film that best reflects human rights issues which comes with a cash prize donated by the Artists for the Human Rights Trust went to Noma, directed by Pablo Pineda.

The audience choice awards for DIFF and for the Wavescape Film Festival will be announced on Monday.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.