All the winners at the 2017 Simon Sabela TV and movie awards

2017-07-17 09:39

Cape Town - The 5th Annual  Simon “Mabhunu” Sabela film and Television Awards were held on Saturday at the Durban Playhouse.

Named after Simon Mabhunu Sabela, a legend in both the small and big screens, the annual ceremony celebrates and honours outstanding work in the industry.

The star-studded event was hosted by singer/actress Nandi Madida and Selbeyonce.

Here is the full list of winners:

Best Director
Kundai Vera (Stranger Danger)

Lux Best Actress – TV
Nomzamo Mbatha

Best Actor – TV
Siyabonga Thwala

Best Supporting Actress – TV
Gcina Mkhize

Best Supporting Actor – TV
Andile Mxakaza

Lux Best Newcomer Actress - TV
Linda Mtoba

Best Student Film

Best Documentary – Feature
The Scar of Seven Day War

Best Documentary – Short
Durban Beach Rescue

About last night #SimonSabela2017 fashion

A post shared by KwaZulu-Natal Film Commission (@kwazulunatalfilm) on

Best of KZN Location
Inkinga Isibongo

Best IsiZulu Film
Buchitheke Bugayiwe

Best Screenplay

Best Feature Film
Happiness is a Four-Letter Word

Best Wardrobe Design in a Feature Film
Happiness is a Four-Letter Word

Lux Best Newcomer Actress – Film
Ayanda Mngoma

Best Microbudget Film
Ikhaya Lami

Disability Award
Mthokozisi Ntshingila
Sithembele Ngema
Nomathemba Sithole
Gugu Sidaki

Special Discretionary Awards
Junaid Ahmed
Lwazi Manzi

Lifetime Achievement Award
Dr Mikhail Peppas

Read more on:    tv  |  local films  |  movies

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.