All the winners at the 38th Durban International Film Festival

2017-07-25 07:21
The Wound

Cape Town - Inxeba (The Wound) scooped both Best Director for John Trengrove and Best Actor for Nakhane Touré at the Durban International Film Festival (13 to 23 July).

The win was announced at the closing ceremony, held on Saturday 22 July. This is a latest in the film’s award-winning streak, which has seen it pick up a number of accolades from all around the world.

Inxeba’had its African premiere in competition at DIFF, screening at The Playhouse in Durban. The film was in competition against Serpent (South Africa), Le Clair Obscur (Turkey), La Belle et la Meute (Tunisia), El Hombre que Cuida (Dominican Republic), Asinamli! (South Africa), Liyana (South Africa), Atanyn Kereezi (Kyrgyzstan), and Basta (Morocco).

“From the very beginning, the process of making Inxeba was characterised by intense collaboration and risk taking. This film demanded everything from those who came on board”, says director John Trengrove. “I am so grateful to the incredible cast and crew who put their faith and trust in this journey. This film is a testament to their efforts. I want to dedicate this award to the silent and faceless queers throughout the African continent who face insurmountable obstacles every day in a struggle for identity and dignity”.

Inxeba, which premiered internationally at this year's Sundance Film Festival and later opened Berlinale Panorama, was a 2014 Durban FilmMart project. This initial pitch enabled the team behind it to obtain funding from a number of international financiers, resulting in a co-production between South Africa, France, Germany and The Netherlands. 

Inxeba will continue to travel around the world, having been sold to 19 countries for theatrical release thus far, and will be distributed in South Africa by Indigenous Film Distribution. It will open nationwide on 2 February 2018.

See the trailer here:

Here is the full list of winners:

Best Feature Film - A Father's Will

Best South African Feature - Vaya

Best Director for a South African Film: John Trentgrove The Wound

Best Direction - A Father's Will (Bakyt Mukul, Dastan Zhapar Uulu.)

Best Cinematography - A Father's Will (Akjol Bekbolotov)

Best Screenplay - La Soledad (Jorge Thielen Armand, Rodrigo Michelangeli)

Best Actor - Nakhane Touré (The Wound)

Best Actress - Mariam Al Ferjani (Beauty and the Dogs)

Best Editing - La Soledad (Felipe Guerrero)

Artistic Bravery - Liyana 

Best International Short Film - Witnesses            

Best African Short Film - All of Us          

Best South African Short - The Hangman           

Best South African Documentary Film - Strike A Rock

Best International Documentary Film - Dusk Chorus

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.