JK Rowling: Fantastic Beasts will be a trilogy

2016-03-03 08:52

Los Angeles - JK Rowling has announced Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them is the first movie in a trilogy.

The author of the Harry Potter series of books which became a worldwide hit when they were adapted for the big screen, has revealed that the spin-off novel-turned-film starring Eddie Redmayne is, in fact, the first of three feature length adventures.

The 50-year-old writer made the revelation on Twitter after a fan suggested her other Potter spin-off project, the London stage play Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, would be adapted into a movie.

The forthcoming writer replied:

The news is set to delight fans of Rowling and her magical franchise - which spawned six Harry Potter books that were adapted into seven films, the last being Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows - Part 2 - released in 2011.

Filming for Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them is also well underway and the movie is scheduled for release in November.

It is set in the 1920s and 70 years before the arrival of boy wizard Harry.

The story revolves around Newt Scamander - played by Redmayne - who is attending the Magical Congress of the United States of America following his world travels to find magical creatures.

It can be assumed the 34-year-old star is aware he is part of a franchise but it is not yet known if he has signed up to the sequels.

Meanwhile, Rowling also cleared up confusion for fans who thought that the stage play was set to be a prequel and also revealed it there will be a second offering.

She tweeted at the weekend:

Watch the trailer here:

Read more on:    eddie redmayne  |  jk rowling  |  movies

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.