Video: Neil Diamond's Dreams

2010-11-08 10:02
Five decades into his career, Neil Diamond has finally made the album of his "Dreams". On November 2, Columbia Records will release Dreams, his 14-song collection comprising the legendary singer/songwriter's favourite songs of other composers from the rock era.

"You never know how long you've got and a lot of these songs have been waiting for me to record them for 40 years", says Neil.

Known mostly as a song writer and stage performer, Dreams showcases Diamond's distinctive skills as a singer.

The album includes music that deeply influenced Diamond as a young man growing up in Brooklyn, starting with Let It Be Me, popularised by the Everly Brothers in 1960. The listener gets to time travel with Diamond as he so beautifully renders The Beatles' stunning and spare Blackbird and the mournful Yesterday, Leon Russell's underrated classic A Song for You, Gilbert O'Sullivan's heart-stopping Alone Again (Naturally), Bill Withers soulful Ain't No Sunshine, and includes a host of other well-known classics from the '60s and '70s.

Diamond also tackles hidden gems from his musical contemporaries such as Don't Forget Me, from the late Harry Nilsson, and the Randy Newman compositions, Feels Like Home, and the poignant Losing You.

Across a musical career stretching nearly 50 years, Neil Diamond has sold more than 128 million albums worldwide. He has charted a staggering 37 Top 10 singles and 16 Top 10 albums.

A Grammy Award-winning artist, Diamond is a member of the Songwriters Hall of Fame and is a recipient of the Sammy Cahn Lifetime Achievement Award, one of the highest honors bestowed upon songwriters.


1. Ain't No Sunshine
2. Blackbird
3. Alone Again (Naturally)
4. Feels Like Home
5. Midnight Train To Georgia
6. I'm A Believer
7. Love Song
8. Losing You
9. Hallelujah
10. A Song For You
11. Yesterday
12. Let It Be Me
13. Desperado
14. Don't Forget Me

Click on the player below to watch Neil talk about the new album:

Read more on:    dreams  |  neil diamond  |  music publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.