2013 MTN Radio Awards nominees named

2013-03-25 14:53
Cape Town - The nominees for the 4th Annual MTN Radio Awards were announced on Monday afternoon during a press conference.

Kicking off in 2010, the MTN Radio Awards sets out to recognise the talent and hard work on air and behind the scenes of South Africa's commercial, public broadcasting, community and and campus radio stations.

CEO of the MTN Radio Awards Lance Rothschild believes that there has been an overall improvement within the submissions for each category, and believes that ceremony grows from strength to strength each year.

"The number of entries in the MTN Radio Awards has grown significantly since the inception of this programme and we are delighted that these awards are making a positive contribution to the constant quest for excellence in this industry," Chief Marketing Officer of MTN SA, Serame Taukobong, said.

'Strong relationship'

"MTN has always had a strong relationship with the radio industry and these awards important in that they recognise and acknowledge excellence."

Nominees in the My Station, Station of the Year, Bright Star Hall of Fame and Lifetime Achiever categories will be announced on 2 April.

The judging panel for the awards includes broadcasting luminaries such as Tim Modise and Jeremy Maggs, media manager and filmmaker Deon Maas, and producer/singer-songwriter Ed Jordan.

The gala event for the 4th Annual MTN Radio Awards is set to take place on 13 April at the Sandton Convetion Centre.

Tickets to attend the event will be made available through the MTN Radio Awards website.

Here is a comprehensive list of nominees for the 4th Annual MTN Radio Awards:

Best Breakfast Show

Breakfast Show - Campus:

Bang-Bang Breakfast -Tuks FM    
Big Bang Breakfast - PUK fm 93.6    
The Morning Fixx - VOW FM

Breakfast Show - Community:

Classic Breakfast on FMR - Fine Music Radio    
Blewitt for Breakfast - Mix 93.8 FM    
Sabahul Muslim - Radio Islam    
The Morning Thrill - Radio Teemaneng Stereo    
Oggendrooi - Radio Tygerberg

Breakfast Show - Public Broadcasting Station:

Weekend Showdown - Lotus FM    
Tsogo Afrika/Ragogo Gee - Motsweding FM    
Ditlalemeso - Thobela FM    
Vuka Msanzi - Ukhozi FM

Breakfast Show - Commercial

Breakfast Express - 94.7 Highveld Stereo    
Jumpstart Your Morning - East Coast Radio    
Good Hope FM Breakfast with Guy McDonald - Good Hope FM    
180 with Bob - Kaya FM 95.9    
The John Robbie Show - Talk Radio 702

Best Breakfast Show Presenter

Public Broadcasting Station:

Dumisane Dominique "Madumane" Simelane - Ligwalagwala FM    
Zaid Bhoola - Lotus FM    
Kabelo Molopyane - Motsweding FM

Commercial Radio:

Kieno Kammies - 567 Cape Talk    
Ryan O'Connor - 94.5 Kfm    
Daron Mann - Algoa FM    
Guy McDonald - Good Hope FM   
Bob Mabena - Kaya FM 95.9    
John Robbie - Talk Radio 702

Business and Finance Radio Show:

Fine Business Radio - Fine Music Radio    
Kaya Bizz - Kaya FM 95.9    
Media@SAfm - SAfm    
The Money Show - Talk Radio 702, 567 Cape Talk    
Bizz Buzz – VOW FM

Community Radio Presenter:

Helen Desbois - 101.9 Chai FM    
Gerhard Schaap - East Rand Stereo    
Thabo Mdluli - Impact Radio 103FM    
Sulaimaan Ravat - Radio Islam 

Best Daytime Show:

Community Radio:

East Rand Stereo Top 40 - East Rand Stereo    
Mid-mornings on Impact - Impact Radio 103FM    
Sibubela Isizwe - Inanda 88.4fm    
The Lunchbox - Link FM 97.1

Commercial Radio:

Pabi Moloi Show - 94.7 Highveld Stereo    
Rob Forbes and Fix - 5FM    
Rob Vember Show - 5FM    
The Workzone with Barney Simon - Jacaranda FM 94.2    
Redi Tlabi Show - Talk Radio 702

Best Afternoon Drive presenter:


DJ Fresh - 5FM    
Wayne Hart - Algoa FM    
Martin Bester - Jacaranda FM 94.2    
Thabo Molefe - METRO FM    
David O' Sullivan - Talk Radio 702

Best Afternoon Drive Show:


The Fresh Drive - 5FM    
The Fastlane - Algoa FM    
Martin Bester Drive - Jacaranda FM 94.2    
Touch - METRO FM    
The David O'Sullivan Show - Talk Radio 702

* For a full list of the official nominees, visit the MTN Radio Award's website.


  • Cecil James Currie - 2013-03-25 15:55

    Nothing from 567? Also reinforces my view that JCW should retire. For no reason other than it has gone from one of the best shows to a dreary repeat after repeat.

  • Dumisani Dush Ngqesha - 2013-03-26 08:01

    where is BEE on Mhlobo Wenene? the best breakfast show

  • pages:
  • 1