Blur announce first album release in 12 years!

2015-02-20 10:01

London - Britpop band Blur on Thursday announced the release of their first album in 12 years and a performance in London's Hyde Park in June.

The Magic Whip, scheduled for release on 27 April, features the full Blur line-up of Alex James, Dave Rowntree, Damon Albarn and Graham Coxon.

The band started recording the album, which follows the release of Think Tank in 2003, in Hong Kong after a gig was cancelled there.

"We thought we'd put a few days, five or six days, to good use," guitarist Coxon said.

The Magic Whip features East Asian-inspired tracks including Pyongyang, My terracotta heart and There are too many of us.

"Everything just felt right," James said. "I don't think we were really thinking of making a record."

Blur will play Hyde Park on 20 June as part of the British Summer Time festival, which features Taylor Swift, Kylie Minogue, The Who and Grace Jones on other dates.

The group had recorded the new album as a live band, making the songs easy to perform live, lead singer Albarn said.

He added that some of the lyrics on the "very urban album" were influenced by protests in Hong Kong and a visit to North Korea.

The track Pyongyang, which takes its name from the North Korean capital, reflects "my impression of the place in a very abstract, veiled way," Albarn said.

The band also posted a lyric video on their Facebook page for new track Go Out:

You can pre-order the new album ?on iTunes now and get the new track Go Out instantly.

Read more on:    celebrities  |  music publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.