Bob Seger honoured for songwriting

2012-06-15 12:29
New York - Multi-platinum recording artist Bob Seger led off this years' Songwriters Hall of Fame induction ceremony with a rousing version of his 1973 classic, Turn the Page.

The Detroit rocker called songwriting the hardest thing he does, and the most rewarding.

Seger, along with Canadian folk rocker Gordon Lightfoot, Gambler songwriter Don Schlitz, and Jim Steinman of Bat Out of Hell fame, were inducted. The writers of the long-running musical, The Fantasticks also were among this year's crop.

Special awards were presented to Bette Midler, Ben E King and Lance Freed, son of the legendary disc jockey Alan Freed.

R&B singer Ne-Yo received the Hal David Starlight Award presented to young songwriters.

Founded in 1969 by Johnny Mercer, the Songwriters Hall of Fame shines a spotlight on the accomplishments of songwriters.