KKNK announces Kanna nominees

2011-04-11 12:58
Oudtshoorn – The Absa KKNK has announced the nominees for the 2011 Kanna Awards.

The Absa Klein Karoo National Arts Festival (KKNK), that wrapped up this weekend, rewards the best work at the festival in a variety of categories every year, with cash prizes and specially designed trophies. The trophies, designed by Marieke Prinsloo, are also known as the Klein Karoo Oscars. 

According to the Kanna panel, the productions at this year's Absa KKNK have displayed genre versatility and addressed relevant issues in realist theatre.

Developmental and interdisciplinary theatre, as well as conceptual performances focusing on various topical issues, has assumed an important role on the festival programme.

The nominations for the Kanna Awards in their respective categories are:
Slurpie Kanna for Best Upcoming Artist:
Emmanuel Bach in the UP Symphony Orchestra’s Scotch on the Rocks
The Namjive company for Padonbekend and Mense van mense 
Shimmy Isaacs in the drama "Howzit my bra!"

Kanna for Best Female Artist
Nicola Hanekom for the text and direction of the drama Lot, as well as her role in WEES
Robyn Scott in London Road
Zanta Hofmeyr in Beethoven op. 18 Strykkwartet and Mozart Divertimento in E-mol k. 563

Kanna for Best Male Artist
Ben Schoeman in the classical music recital Ben Schoeman speel / plays Franz Liszt
Christo Davids in the drama My naam/name is Ellen Pakkies
Stian Bam in the dramas Lot and Spyt

Kanna nominations for Best Director
David Geysen for the drama Messe in henne
Lara Bye for the drama London Road
Nicola Hanekom for the drama Lot

Best Absa KKNK-Debut production
The drama Lot
The contemporary music production Malaika / My engel
The classical music production Vuurvoël

Kanna for Best Production
The drama Lot
The drama My naam/name is Ellen Pakkies
The classical music performance Tygeberg Kinderkoor - Wêreldkampioene in konsert

Herrie Kanna for Mind Shifting Work has no nominations as the winner will be announced during the Kanna Awards function.

The Afrikaans Onbeperk prize for Innovative Thinking will also be awarded to Ingrid Winterbach at the awards ceremony as well as a Special Kanna for a lifetime achievement in performance to Wilna Snyman.

This year's Kanna panel is headed by Alwyn Swart and the panel consisted of Adrienne Sichel, Amanda Botha, Chrisna du Preez, Christiaan de Swardt, Denise Bester, Diane de Beer, Eduard Greyling, Erns Grundlingh, Hein Willemse, John Theodore, Martjie Roos, Ronnie Samaai, Wim Vorster en Woutrine Theron.
Read more on:    kknk  |  theatre  |  music

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.