MTV Africa Music Awards set to rock South African shores with local and international stars

2014-05-15 10:58
Durban - In case you haven’t heard, the home of hit videos and terrible/addictive reality shows (we’re looking at you Ex On the Beach), MTV Africa, is hosting one big awards show on Saturday 7 June 2014 at the Durban International Convention Centre.

The awards that have been handed out since 2008, showcase blazing hot artists from all over Africa and for the first time ever, the awards will be premiering live across Africa on MTV Base (DStv Channel 322) and MTV (DStv Channel 130) at 21:00.

Non music artists are also shown some love for making their own lane this year with the Personality of the year category, with nominees including Chimamanda Adiche, Omotola Jalade Ekeinde, Trevor Noah, Lupita Nyong’o and Yaya Toure.

We can’t wait to see who wins and who pulls a Kanye this year but the part we’re most hyped about? The performances!

Davido (Nigeria) and mzansi’s own Mafikizolo (who lead the nominations with Uhuru) are the first two confirmed performers for the night. We can’t wait to hear who else is going to BRING it for the biggest night of the year on South Africa’s East Coast.

The MAMA (MTV Africa Music Awards) nominations in full:


Best Male:
Anselmo Ralph (Angola)
Davido (Nigeria)
Diamond (Tanzania)
Donald (South Africa)
Wizkid (Nigeria)

Best Female:
Arielle T (Gabon)
Chidinma (Nigeria)
DJ C’ndo (South Africa)
Efya (Ghana)
Tiwa Savage (Nigeria)

Best Group:
Big Nuz (South Africa)
Mafikizolo (South Africa)
Mi Casa (South Africa)
P Square (Nigeria)
Sauti Sol (Kenya)

Best New Act:
Burna Boy (Nigeria)
Heavy K (South Africa)
Phyno (Nigeria)
Stanley Enow (Cameroon)
Uhuru (South Africa)

Best Live Act:
2face (Nigeria)
Fally Ipupa (DRC)
Flavour (Nigeria)
Dr Malinga (South Africa)
Zakes Bantwini (South Africa)

Best Collaboration:
Amani ft Radio and Weasel – Kiboko Changu (Kenya/Uganda)
Diamond feat Davido – Number One (Remix) (Tanzania/Nigeria)
Mafikizolo feat May D – Happiness (South Africa/Nigeria)
R2bees feat Wizkid – Slow Down (Ghana/Nigeria)
Uhuru feat DJ Buckz, Oskido, Professor, Yuri Da Cunha – Y-tjukutja (South Africa/Angola)

Artist of the Year:
Davido (Nigeria)
Mafikizolo (South Africa)
Mi Casa (South Africa)
P Square (Nigeria)
Uhuru (South Africa)

Song of the Year:
Davido- Skelewu (Nigeria)
DJ Clock feat Beatenberg – Pluto (Remember Me) (South Africa)
DJ Ganyani feat FB – Xigubu (South Africa)
DJ Kent feat The Arrows – Spin My World Around (South Africa)
Dr Sid feat Don Jazzy – Surulere (Nigeria)
KCee - Limpopo (Nigeria)
Mafikizolo feat Uhuru - Khona (South Africa)
Mi Casa- Jika (South Africa)
P Square – Personally (Nigeria)
Yuri Da Cunha - Atchu Tchu Tcha (Angola)

Best Hip Hop:
AKA (South Africa)
Ice Prince (Nigeria)
Khuli Chana (South Africa)
Olamide (Nigeria)
Sarkodie (Ghana)

Best Pop:
Danny K (South Africa)
Fuse ODG (Ghana)
Goldfish (South Africa)
LCNVL (South Africa)
Mathew Mole (South Africa)

Best Alternative:
Gangs of Ballet (South Africa)
Michael Lowman (South Africa)
Nakhane Toure (South Africa)
Parlotones (South Africa)
Shortstraw (South Africa)

Best Francophone:
Arielle T (Gabon)
Espoir 2000 (Ivory Coast)
Ferre Gola (DRC)
Toofan (Togo)
Youssoupha (Congo)

Best Lusophone:
Anselmo Ralph (Angola)
JD (Angola)
Lizha James (Mozambique)
Nelson Freitas (Cape Verde)
Yuri Da Cunha (Angola)


Personality of the Year:
Chimamanda Adiche (Nigeria)
Omotola Jalade Ekeinde (Nigeria)
Trevor Noah (South Africa)
Lupita Nyong’o (Kenya)
Yaya Toure (Cote d’Ivoire)

Transform Today by Absolut:
Anisa Mpungwe (Tanzania)
Clarence Peters (Nigeria)
Leti Arts (Ghana)
Rasty (South Africa)

More categories and performers are to be announced soon. So keep it locked on Channel24 for all the freshest info!