SAMA Record Of The Year finalists revealed

2013-05-10 12:31
Cape Town - The organisers of the 19th South African Music Awards announced the MTN Record of the Year category Top five shortlisted nominees on Thursday.

The announcement comes after the voting lines closed earlier on Thursday following a rush from artists to secure votes from their fans.

To determine the overall winner, voting lines have re-opened on Friday morning, 10 May at 08:00 and will close at 22:00 during the live broadcast of the MTN SAMAs on SABC 1 on Saturday 11 May. Fans are urged to vote for their favourite MTN Record of the Year before then.

Each of the shortlisted artists will retain their allocated letter, as per the initial top 20 list that was issued at the nominees launch in March. The voting will commence from zero (0) to ensure that all artists have an equal opportunity to garner for votes from their fans.

The shortlisted nominees were allocated a letter ranging from "A" to "T" and the public can vote by sending an SMS with the letter assigned to their favourite artist to 083 123 SAMA (7262) at standard SMS rates.

Fans can SMS up to a maximum of 10 times per mobile number.

The Top 5 shortlisted nominees for MTN Record of the Year are as follows:

F: Donald - I Deserve
J: Khaya  - Move
M: Mi Casa - Heavenly Sent
N: Oskido  - Tsa Mandebele
P: Sfiso Ncwane - Kulungile Baba

The main MTN SAMA 19 awards ceremony takes place at the Sun City Superbowl on Saturday, 11 May and will be televised live on SABC1 from 20:00.


  • Sandy Hammond - 2013-05-10 13:14

    Never heard of any of them.

  • Nicci Cee - 2013-05-10 13:43

    Khaya - Move? Record of the year? That guy who won idols, made his 1st song (Move) and now it's nominated for record of the year? Ha-ha-ha-ha! Pathetic...

      Mabosigo Molamu - 2013-05-10 14:19

      i cant believe this as well

  • Stewart Croucamp - 2013-05-10 17:32

    Who are these singers? Don't mean much in my music world.

  • Thandie Mbukushe - 2013-05-11 08:31

    I'm a huge fan of Khaya bt I dnt think his song deserves to be on ths list. Sfiso, Oskido n Donald deserve to b here

  • pages:
  • 1