SAMAs announce live acts

2013-04-29 14:01
Cape Town – The organisers of the 19th South African Music Awards announced part of the official performance line-up for the awards show on Monday.

Legendary artists across multiple genres, including multiple SAMA nominees and Lifetime Achievement Award recipients, will be performing at the official awards ceremony which will be held on 10 and 11 May at Sun City.

The partial line-up includes:

Dr Thomas Chauke
Sangre Superbeat
Toya Delazy
DJ Zinhle
Desmond and the Tutus
The Muffinz
Vetkuk & Mahoota

The revealed line-up makes up only half of the live performances with a number of surprise collaborations and appearances to be revealed on the night.

Although the producers are remaining tight lipped about both the number and identity of these artists; they have revealed that there will be 120 individual performers on Saturday.

"MTN SAMA 19 has pulled out all the stops with an incredible line-up that will see legendary performances from past and prospective SAMA winners light up the stage at the biggest music event on the South African calendar", added MTN SAMA CEO Nhlanhla Sibisi.