In partnership with

Diamond Thug set to release debut EP this month

2016-02-11 11:47

Cape Town - Cape Town-based band Diamond Thug are excited to announce the forthcoming release of their EP, Monday Will Have To Wait.

This EP is the band’s first major release and their first release that will be available as a physical release.

The digital EP release will be made up of four brand new tracks including the current single Long Way and physical release will have two bonus tracks added to the four singles, with both formats of the EP available from 29 February 2016.

Watch the music video for Long Way here:

"Monday Will Have to Wait is an EP, deeply influenced by our own experienced reality and meandering perspectives. We tried to stir up the same emotions in the listener, as we felt while writing the EP. I think that there are moments of hope, excitement and happiness, but there are also moments of longing, impatience, confusion and discontent, the sort of overwhelming emotional roller-coaster of a Sunday evening. All in all it’s an honest reflection of each member’s current position in life, as a young adult, as an individual coming to terms with the contrasting and complex realities of the world," comments Diamond Thug member, Danilo Queiros.

Opening track Beauty Through The Devil’s Door is a hypnotic intro to the EP showcasing the beauty of lead singer Chantel Van T’s vocals. Long Way is the current single from the EP and a great Pop/Indie track. The single is proof of the incredible song writing strength of Diamond Thug and is probably the most commercial single on the EP. The 3rd track on the EP, Mind’s Eye, is a bit of a darker track and tingles the listener’s senses as Chantel’s vocals invite them with lyrics "I feel your desire". Fourth and final track from the digital release of the EP is Miami. Another incredible single from the band with a very sexy seductive feel to a longing for love found.

Track List for digital EP release:

1. Beauty through The Devil’s Door
2. Long Way
3. Mind’s Eye
4. Miami

Bonus tracks on physical release:

5. What I Think I Know (Bonus Track)
6. Waiting on the Sun (Bonus Track)

Singles Mind’s Eye and Long Way were recorded in Boston at The Converse Rubber Tracks Studio. Diamond Thug were chosen as one of 89 artists worldwide to record their singles at the studio. The songs were engineered by Boston rock legend Dave Minehan of Wooly Mammoth Studios and he was assisted by Matt Carlson.

Beauty Through the Devil’s Door and Miami were recorded at Digital Forest Studio in Constantia and the songs were produced and engineered by Grammy and SAMA-Award Winning Producer, Darryl Torr.

Diamond Thug will be launching their EP across SA, so catch them live on the following dates:

4 February - Aces n Spades w/ The Liminals
20 February – Aandklas, Stellenbosch w/ The Liminals
4 March – EP Launch in Cape Town above Truth Coffee Shop, Buitenkant Street.
11 March – EP Launch in Durban, The Winston
13 March – Fourways Farmers Market, JHB
18 March – Mieliepop Festival (
20/21 March – The Good Luck Bar, The Sheds, 1 Fox St, Johannesburg
24 March – Arcade Empire, Pretoria
27 March – Outland Festival (

The Long Way single is available for purchase on SA iTunes.

Keep up with the band on Facebook here.

Read more on:    local music  |  music

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.