Justin Bieber and Beyoncé lead MTV EMAs nominations

2016-09-28 10:01

Los Angeles - Justin Bieber and Beyoncé lead the nominations at this year's MTV European Music Awards 2016 with each star getting five each.

The pair dominate the awards and the Let Me Love You hitmaker, whose fans are known as Beliebers, and the R&B superstar, whose loyal followers are called The Beehive, will go head-to-head in the Best Fan category.

The 22-year-old hunk is also up for Best Song for Sorry and the Best Male, Best Pop and Best Local Act in Canada prizes.

The Lemonade singer is also up for Best Video for her comeback single Formation, Best Female, Best Live and Best Local Act (US).

Not far behind is Adele who got four nods for Best Song for Hello, Best Female, Best Live and Best Local Act in the UK and Ireland.

Bieber will battle it out with Calvin Harris, Drake, Shawn Mendes and The Weeknd for Best Male, while Beyoncé has stiff competition for Best Female in the form of Adele, Lady Gaga, Rihanna and Sia.

British rockers Coldplay also got four nominations.

The band - fronted by Chris Martin - will compete for Best Video for Up&Up with Kanye West's Famous, Tame Impala's The Less I Know the Better and The Weeknd ft. Daft Punk Starboy.

The Yellow hitmakers are also up for Best Live, Best Rock and Best Local Act in the UK and Ireland.

Rihanna and Drake have received three nominations.

The Love On The Brain hitmaker and Hotline Bling rapper received a nod each for their collaboration Work.

The Bajan beauty will also compete for Best Female and Best Pop, while the 29-year-old star is up for Best Male and Best Hip Hop.

Green Day and Twenty One Pilots will battle it out with Adele, Beyoncé and Coldplay for Best Live.

And this year features the hottest Best New Artist category to date, with Bebe Rexha, DNCE, Lukas Graham, The Chainsmokers and Zara Larsson all up for gongs.

Best Pop also sees Ariana Grande, Fifth Harmony, Selena Gomez and Shawn Mendes nominated.

Best Rock contenders also include Green Day, Metallica,Muse and Red Hot Chili Peppers.

Twenty One Pilots also compete for Best Alternative alongside Kings of Leon, Radiohead, Tame Impala and The 1975.

Best Hip Hop sees Future, G-Eazy ad Wiz Khalifa up against Kanye West.

The winners will be revealed at a star-studded ceremony being held at the Ahoy Rotterdam arena in Rotterdam, Netherlands, on 6 November.

See the full list of nominations here:

Best Song:
Adele - Hello
Justin Bieber - Sorry
Lukas Graham - 7 Years
Mike Posner - I Took A Pill In Ibiza (Seeb Remix)
Rihanna ft. Drake – Work

Best Video:
Beyoncé - Formation
Coldplay - Up&Up
Kanye West - Famous
Tame Impala - The Less I Know the Better
The Weeknd ft. Daft Punk – Starboy

Best Female:
Lady Gaga

Best Male:
Calvin Harris
Justin Bieber
Shawn Mendes
The Weeknd

Best Live:
Green Day
Twenty One Pilots

Best New:
Bebe Rexha
Lukas Graham
The Chainsmokers
Zara Larsson

Best Look:
Lady Gaga
Bebe Rexha

Best Pop:
Ariana Grande
Fifth Harmony
Justin Bieber
Selena Gomez
Shawn Mendes

Best Rock:
Green Day
Red Hot Chili Peppers

Best Alternative:
Kings of Leon
Tame Impala
The 1975
Twenty One Pilots

Best Hip Hop:
Kanye West
Wiz Khalifa

Best Electronic:
Calvin Harris
David Guetta
Major Lazer
Martin Garrix

Best Push:
Alessia Cara
Bebe Rexha
Charlie Puth
Dua Lipa
Elle King
Jack Garratt
Jonas Blue
Lukas Graham

Biggest Fans:
Ariana Grande
Justin Bieber
Lady Gaga
Shawn Mendes

Best World Stage:
Duran Duran - Piazza Del Duomo, Milan (2015)
Ellie Goulding - Piazza Del Duomo, Milan (2015)
Jess Glynne - Isle of MTV, Malta (2016)
Martin Garrix - Isle of MTV, Malta (2015)
One Republic - MTV Evolution, Philippines (2016)
Tinie Tempah - MTV Crashes, Plymouth (2015)
Tomorrowland - Belgium (2016)
Wiz Khalifa - Isle of MTV, Malta (2016)

Best Local Act:
Beyoncé (US),
Adele (UK & Ireland),
Coldplay (UK & Ireland),
Justin Bieber (Canada),
Shawn Mendes (Canada)
Lukas Graham (Denmark) 

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.