Samas back at the Sun City Super Bowl in 2018

2018-05-21 14:05
Black Motion

Johannesburg - Sun City is the proud host of the South African Music Awards (Samas) on 2 June 2018. 

The twenty-fourth edition of the country’s most prestigious music awards event sees a mixed bag of nominees competing for the coveted awards at a glittering event at the iconic Sun Arena (Super Bowl). 

This is the second consecutive year that Sun City will stage the Samas after welcoming the return of the event to the resort in 2017. Music lovers are called to support their favourite artists at this year’s Samas. Tickets range in price from R395 to R795 at Ticket Pro. The event starts at 20:00.

Sun City’s General Manager, Raul de Lima said about the event: “We are thrilled to provide the stage for the South African Music Awards in 2018. When the awards returned to Sun City last year, it was something of a homecoming as they had previously been held at the Super Bowl for nine years between 2002 and 2010 before being hosted in other venues for a few years.

“Sun City is a proud and passionate supporter of the South African music industry and it is a great source of pride to be associated with the country’s most prestigious awards event to honour local artists. There is a truly diverse mix of talented artists in this year’s selection of nominees which would provide for a magnificent and entertaining showcase of authentic South African talent.”


The Top 20 shortlist for Record of the Year, revealed last month, points to a dominant dance culture and a thriving hip hop industry. 

Lady Zamar flies the dance flag with two berths for My Baby and Love is Blind, Kwesta holds it down for hip hop with his two hits Spirit featuring Wale and Ngiyazifela Ngawe featuring Thabsie. After getting the nation down to their pulsating beats, house DJs have a reason to celebrate. Prince Kaybee received the green light for Charlotte; DJ Zinhle with Colours featuring Tamara Dey; Heavy K for Inde featuring Bucie; DJ Kent on Love You Still featuring Domini; DJ Maphorisa with Midnight featuring D; and Black Motion with Imali.


Some of the biggest summer anthems found a spot on the prestigious list. Omunye by Durban gqom duo Distruction Boyz featuring Benny Maverick and Dlala Mshunqisi made an appearance as did Akanamali by Sun-El Musician featuring Samthing Soweto. Mafikizolo adds the fourth nomination to their SAMA24 haul with Love Potion, the same applies to Mi Casa with Nana who are now sitting with four nods.


The laid back R&B/pop tunes, Suited by Shekhinah, I Do by LaSauce featuring Amanda and Tigi by Sands crack the list and also stake their claim to the trophy. RiSA CEO Nhlanhla Sibisi said he was proud of the nominees. "You can always count on South African music for its vibrancy and competitiveness. It brings me such joy to see that the songs that got South Africa moving have been recognised and now it’s up to the public to crown the winner. Congratulations and best of luck to all."



It’s now up to the public to vote and send the nominees into the top 10 stage before heading out to Sun City where the Record of the Year winner will be crowned. Voting by USSD line is open until next month. To vote you send the number of the artist, for example *120*2003*21# USSD charged at R1.50 per minute, free minutes do not apply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.