WATCH: Florence and the Machine’s new video is so beautiful we want to live in it

2018-05-04 11:05
Florence Welsh

New York - High as Hope, the hugely anticipated new album from Florence and the Machine, is set for release on 29 June on Republic Records. 

The first official single, Hunger, premiered on Thursday and is accompanied by a stunning new video directed by A.G. Rojas.

Hunger pairs Florence’s intimate, raw and honest lyrics with a beautiful beat that sweeps you away. 

“This song is about the ways we look for love in things that are perhaps not love, and how attempts to feel less alone can sometimes isolate us more,” says Florence. “I guess I made myself more vulnerable in this song to encourage connection, because perhaps a lot more of us feel this way than we are able to admit. Sometimes when you can’t say it, you can sing it.”


Florence wrote, co-produced (her first time co-producing a Florence and the Machine album) and recorded the majority of High as Hope in solitude, cycling to her studio in Peckham every day. She finished the songs in Los Angeles with her friend and co-producer Emile Haynie, bringing in Kamasi Washington, Sampha, Tobias Jesso Jr, Kelsey Lu and Jamie xx as further collaborators.

Florence mixed the record in New York, where the daily view of the skyline—often in stark contrast to the chaos of the wider world—gave the album its title.

Florence writes of growing up in South London, of family, relationships and art itself. “There’s a lot of love in this record, loneliness too, but a lot of love,” says Florence. 

She continues, “It’s always a work in progress, and I definitely don’t have everything figured out. But this feels like quite a pure expression of who I am now, as an artist, and an honest one. I’m just more comfortable with who I am.” 


1. June
2. Hunger
3. South London Forever
4. Big God
5. Sky Full of Song
6. Grace
7. Patricia
8. 100 Years
9. The End of Love
10. No Choir

Read more on:    music

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.