First annual Comedy Awards results

2011-03-28 08:17
New York - David Letterman, Tina Fey and Louis CK were among the laugh-getters honoured on Saturday at the first annual Comedy Awards.

At the presentation held by Comedy Central, Alec Baldwin (30 Rock) and Kristen Wiig (Saturday Night Live) won as Best Comedy Actor and Actress in Television.

Tina Fey (Date Night) and Zach Galifianakis (Dinner for Schmucks) were awarded Best Comedy Actress and Actor in Film.

Modern Family received the award for Best Comedy Series, while The Other Guys was named Best Comedy Film.

Comedic excellence

The Daily Show with Jon Stewart won for Best Late-Night Comedy Series, South Park for Animated Comedy Series and Toy Story 3 for Animated Comedy Film.

Louis C.K.: Hilarious won for Best Standup Special and Childrens Hospital received the award for Sketch Comedy-Alternative Comedy Series.

Daniel Tosh was chosen by fans to receive the Breakthrough Performer award. Auto-Tune the News: Bed Intruder Song was elected by fans as Best Viral Original.

Eddie Murphy was honoured with the previously announced Comedy Icon Award, while David Letterman received the night's highest honour as the first recipient of the Johnny Carson Award for Comedic Excellence.
Read more on:    david letterman  |  tina fey  |  celebrities publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.