Afrikaans theatre honoured in CT

2012-02-24 10:48
Cape Town - The winners of the second annual kykNET Fiestas were announced on Thursday at the Artscape Theatre in Cape Town.

The kykNET Fiestas honour the best Afrikaans artists and productions which debuted at festivals countrywide last year.

On Thursday night, the golden statue was awarded in 16 categories during an extravagant show at the Artscape Theatre.

The gangs-in-prison drama Rooiland won four accolades after being nominated in six categories. Rooiland's Brendon Daniels received the prize for best actor, Jaco Bouwer for best director, Bouwer and Tertius Kapp for best new Afrikaans production and Kapp again for best upcoming artist.

'More than a gala'

A series of prizes were also awarded to the open air production Lot, after it was nominated in six categories. Lot received the award for best production, Neels van Jaarsveld for best supporting actor and Nicola Hanekom for best theatre design.

The annual Afrikaans arts festival, Innibos, held annually in Nelspruit, was voted 2011's best festival.  

South African icons Louis van Niekerk, Mimi Coertse and Elsa Joubert were honoured with lifetime achievement awards for their exceptional contributions to theatre, music and literature respectively.

Karen Meiring, channel head for kykNET said the judges attended arts festivals countrywide and experienced each production first hand and on its home ground before nominations were made.

"The Fiestas is so much more than a gala evening to honour the cream of the crop of Afrikaans theatre. The variety of nominated productions is a reflection of the state of the arts in this country and the kykNET Fiestas is the jewel in the crown of our commitment to the development of the Afrikaans arts, culture and entertainment landscape."

'Oscars of Afrikaans theatre'

In between the announcement of category winners, the audience was entertained by a diverse line-up of performers. Amongst others, the evening featured a poetry reading by Antjie Krog, a performance by Steve Hofmeyr, an Afrikaans duet by Claire Johnston and Vusi Mahlasela and the popular pair-up of Jack Parow and David Kramer.

Meiring said the event is already being referred to as the "Oscars of Afrikaans theatre".

The Fiestas awards show will be broadcast on Thursday March 1 2012 at 19:30 on kykNET channel 111 on DStv.

The full list of winner for kykNET Fiestas 2012:

Best Actor
Brendon Daniels - Rooiland

Best Actress:
Wilna Snyman - Klaasvakie

Best Supporting Actor:
Neels van Jaarsveld - Lot

Best Supporting Actress:
Esther von Waltsleben - Agterplaas

Best Director:
Jaco Bouwer - Rooiland

Best Theatre Design:
Nicola Hanekom - Lot

Best Performance in a Music Driven Production:
Karen Zoid - Malaika / My Engel

Best Performance in a Solo Production:
Shimmy Isaacs - Howzit my bra!

Best Newly Created Afrikaans Production:
Rooiland  - Jaco Bouwer and Tertius Kapp

Best Upcoming Artist:
Tertius Kapp - Rooiland

Best Achievement in Classical Music:
Ben Schoeman - Performance of compositions by Franz Liszt

Best Achievement in Dance Theatre:
Namjive dance company - Mense van Mense

Best Achievement in Visual Arts:
Diane Victor - Featured artist of Innibos

Best Production:

Most Popular Fiƫsta Presenter:
Willem Botha

Most Popular Festival:

Lifetime Achievement Award for Theatre:
Louis van Niekerk

Lifetime Achievement Award for Music:
Mimi Coertse

Lifetime Achievement Award for Literature:
Elsa Joubert