SA musicians score at Mamas

2016-10-23 06:42

Nigerian musicians almost cleaned the trophy table last night when they took home no fewer than six awards at the 2016 MTV Africa Music Awards (Mamas), held at the Ticketpro Dome in Northgate, north of Johannesburg.

Wizkid (real name Ayodeji Ibrahim Balogun) walked away with Artist of the Year and Best Male Artist, leaving other musos green with envy.

However, our Mzansi rappers Cassper Nyovest (real name Refiloe Phoolo), Emtee (real name Mthembeni Ndevu) and successful record producer DJ Maphorisa (real name Themba Sekowe) did not go home empty-handed.

They made us proud when they scooped one award each.

Nyovest was named Best Live Act, while Emtee clinched the title of Best Hip-Hop Artist.

The renowned DJ Maphorisa won in the Best Collaboration category for the song Soweto Baby, featuring Wizkid and DJ Buckz.

Shekinah and Kyle Deutsch scored in the Best Pop and Alternative category.

Speaking to City Press, DJ Maphorisa said it was an honour for him to win the award.

“Just the fact that I was nominated means a lot to me. This shows I have produced great music,” he said.

BEST POP Shekinah and Kyle Deutsch
best live act Cassper Nyovest
personality of the year Caster Semenya
best hip-hop artist Emtee
Legend Hugh Masekela

Nyovest’s award came at the right time for him – just few days before his #FillUpOrlandoStadium concert, set to take place on October 29.

The awards ceremony also recognised our sports fraternity. Caster Semenya won the award for Personality of the Year.

The highlight of the evening was when jazz icon Hugh Masekela was handed the Legend Award.

The night was also dedicated to the recently deceased kwaito star, Mandoza. Kwaito legends Mdu Masilela and Trompies performed in honour of their fellow musician.

The Mamas were hosted by TV and radio personality Bonang Matheba, actress Nomzamo Mbatha and Nigerian singer Yemi Alade, who won the award for Best Female Artist.

MTV Africa Music

Awards winners 2016:

Artist of the Year: Wizkid (Nigeria)

Best Female Artist: Yemi Alade (Nigeria)

Best Male Artist: Wizkid (Nigeria)

Best Group: Sauti Sol (Kenya)

Best Breakthrough Act: Tekno (Nigeria)

Best Pop and Alternative: Shekinah and Kyle Deutsch (South Africa)

Song of the Year, in partnership with Google: My Woman, My Everything by Patoranking feat. Wande Coal (Nigeria)

Listeners’ Choice: Jah Prayzah (Zimbabwe)

Video of the Year: Niquer Ma Vie by Youssoupha (Congo) – director: Antony Abdelli and Jose Eon

Best Francophone Artist: Serge Beynaud (Ivory Coast)

Best Lusophone Artist: C4 Pedro (Angola)

Best Collaboration, in partnership with Absolut: DJ Maphorisa feat. Wizkid and DJ Buckz – Soweto Baby (South Africa/Nigeria)

Africa Reimagined: Vivian Onano and Mary Taedzerwa

Best International Artist: Drake (US)

Read more on:    wizkid  |  cassper nyovest  |  mandoza  |  emtee  |  mamas

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.