In partnership with

2016 Saftas nominees announced

2016-02-18 14:12

Cape Town – Still evolving after 10 times, The National Film and Video Foundation (NFVF) this morning announced the nominees for its 2016 South African Film and Television Awards.

The 2016 Saftas will take place on 18 and 20 March at Gallagher Estate. The second night, usually a live TV broadcast perenially marred by technical problems and awkward moments, will be broadcast on SABC2 and this year have SABC3's Expresso presenter Katlegoe Maboe as the host.

The NFVF through the Saftas tries to honour the best of South African TV and film with Golden Horn trophies, although criticism remain that categories are unbalanced and that several best productions are not included and recognised.

Leading with 11 nominations is the satirical show ZA News: Puppet Nation on StarSat with 11 nominations, followed by 9 nominations for the SABC3 mockumentary Those Who Can’t.

The made-for-TV movies Rise and Ingoma, as well as the TV comedy Kota Life Crisis all got 8 nominations.

The soap dramas Saints and Sinners (Mzansi Magic) and isiBaya (Mzansi Magic) each got 7 nominations, with 6 nominations each for Isidingo (SABC3) and Ashes to Ashes (

Five nominations each went to Rhythm City (, The Gift and While You Weren’t Looking. The feature film Ayanda also earned five nods.

“These nominations not only honour extraordinary achievements but they serve as an incredibly helpful guide to the best of the best of what’s out there for our television viewers and ticket buyers,” says Zama Mkosi, NFVF CEO.

Here’s an abbreviated 2016 Saftas nominee list:


Best TV drama
Saints and Sinners

Best TV comedy
Ga Ra Dumele
Kota Life Crisis
Those Who Can't
ZANews: Puppet Nation

Best TV soap
Ashes to Ashes
Rhythm City

Best achievement by a lead actress – TV drama
Ntathi Moshesh (Saints and Sinners)
Linda Sokhulu (Shreds and Dreams)
Gugu Masondo (Shreds and Dreams)

Best achievement by a lead actor – TV drama
Bheki Mkhwane (Uzalo)
Siyabonga Radebe (Saints and Sinners)
S'dumo Mtshali (Saints and Sinners)

Best achievement by a lead actress – TV comedy
Robyn Scott (Those Who Can't)
Chantal Herman (Those Who Can't)
Vatiswa Ndara (Kota Life Crisis)

Best achievement by a lead actor – TV comedy
Aggrey Loake (ZANews: Puppet Nation)
Mandla Gaduka (Gauteng Maboneng)
Nik Rabinowitz (ZANews: Puppet Nation)

Best achievement by a lead actress – TV soap
Leeanda Reddy (Isidingo)
Brümilda van Rensburg (Binnelanders)
Tema Sebopedi (Isidingo)

Best achievement by a lead actor – TV soap
Vusi Kunene (Isibaya)
Motlatsi Mafatshe (Isidingo)
Siyabonga Thwala (Isibaya)

Best achievement by a supporting actress – TV drama
Brenda Ngxoli (Rockville)
Motshabi Tyelele (Matatiele)
Charmaine Mtinta (Matatiele)

Best achievement by a supporting actor – TV drama
Terence Bridgett (90 Plein Street)
Deon Lotz (When We Were Black)
Wayne van Rooyen (Shreds and Dreams)

Best achievement by a supporting actress –TV comedy
Jennifer Steyn (Abo Mzala)
Linda Sebezo (Gauteng Maboneng)
Tumi Morake (Kota Life Crisis)

Best achievement by a supporting actor – TV comedy
Bongani Madondo (Kota Life Crisis)
Thembile Botman (Abo Mzala)
ZANews Puppeteers (ZANews: Puppet Nation)

Best achievement by a supporting actress – TV soap
Linda Sokhulu (Isidingo)
Maggie Benedict (Ashes to Ashes)
Elize Cawood (Binnelanders)

Best achievement by a supporting actor – TV soap
Richard Lukunku (Ashes to Ashes)
Samson Khumalo (Isibaya)
Siyabonga Shibe (Ashes to Ashes)

Best TV presenter – various genres
Johan Stemmet (Noot Vir Noot)
Danine Naidoo (Edge)
Stoan Seate (Afro Café)
Pabi Moloi (Eksê Zwakala)
Katlego Maboe (Expresso)
Riaan Cruywagen (kykNET Verslag)
Dingaan Mokebe (Speak Out)
Vele Manenje (Siyakholwa We Believe)
Katlego Maboe (Strictly Come Dancing)
Tumi Osei-Tutu (Our Perfect Wedding)
Chanley Wong (Craz-e)

Best reality show
Ultimate Braai Master
Date My Family
Global Wheeling

Best international format programme
The X Factor South Africa
Strictly Come Dancing SA
Celebrity MasterChef South Africa

Best game show
Noot Vir Noot
Op Die Spel
Down for the Guap

Best magazine show
Girl Eat World
Top Billing
The Man Cave

Best music show
Sessions Of 76
Afri-visie 2015

Best talk show
Republiek Van Zoid Afrika
Jou Show
I Am – Drug Abuse

Best variety show
Galaxy Of Stars 2014
Just Cooking

Best current affairs actuality programme
It's A Zama Zama
Dying For Water In Madibeng (Carte Blanche)
Insurance Taken For A Ride (Carte Blanche)

Best factual education programme
Each One Teach One - Dancer
Groen Namibia
Durban Beach Rescue
Siyaya - Come Wild With Us

Best youth programme
#yot Life - Day
100% Youth
My World

Best children's programme
Challenge SOS


Best feature film
Dis Ek, Anna
For Love and Broken Bones

Best made-for-TV movie
The Gift

Best documentary
The Shore Break
The Dream of Shahrazad
204: Getting Away With Murder

Best achievement by a lead actress
Fulu Mughovani (Ayanda)
Jana Strydom (Treurgrond)
Thishiwe Ziqubu (While You Weren't Looking)

Best Achievement by a lead actor
Mduduzi Mabaso (For Love and Broken Bones)
Emanuel Gweva (Thina Sobabili)
Lionel Newton (While You Weren't Looking)
Aubrey Poo (Ingoma)

Read more on:    saftas 2016  |  movies  |  tv

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.