6th Safta nominees announced

2012-02-17 09:12
Thinus Ferreira
Cape Town – The nominees for the 6th South African Film and Television Awards (Saftas) were announced on Thursday at Melrose Arch once again stirring controversy and raising serious questions regarding selection, judging and overall credibility of the awards show with the SABC2 soap 7de Laan cut from the category of Best TV Soap this year.

The 6th Saftas, originally set for March 10 and 11 at Gallagher Estate, was suddenly moved to March 9 and 10.

Channel24 has learned that SABC3, which was set to broadcast the 6th Saftas on March 11 and planned a live broadcast, will now have to settle for a recorded broadcast after being told by organisers that the ceremony suddenly had to move a day earlier.

The Saftas will dole out Golden Horn awards on March 9 for the non-fiction categories and on March 10 for the fiction categories.

As in previous years, the Saftas – organised by the National Film and Video Foundation (NFVF) - has industry insiders saying that the entry and selection process and judging of the awards ceremony needs to be relooked.


On the TV side, M-Net and e.tv previously lukewarm about the Saftas, didn't enter for a long time citing credibility issues and doubt about a fair chance to compete.

SABC1's Generations and producer Mfundi Vundla previously also expressed great unhappiness with the Saftas with the cast and crew who boycotted the awards.

This year SABC2's 7de Laan refused to enter cast and crew into categories leading to its banishment from the Best Soap category which is determined by viewers and a popular vote.

SABC2 has yet to respond to media enquiries about how the broadcaster feels about its hugely successful soap which won the Best Soap award in 2009, 2010 and 2011 suddenly not being in the running this year.


The Saftas winners are decided upon by 104 judges who work within the TV and film industry. The 104 judges are all previous winners and nominees. Jackie Motsepe, one of the two judging chairpersons who oversee the judging, works at the SABC.

This year Shona Ferguson is a nominee for Best actor in a soap for his role as Alex in e.tv's Scandal!,  although he's been appearing in M-Net's The Wild for longer than a year.

Intersexions on SABC1 will be the winner in the category for Best actor in a drama series since only actors from that one show are the three nominees.

Jam Alley vs Crew is one of the nominees for both Best music show, as well as Best game show, as well as Best Youth and Children's show.

The full list of nominees:

Best news and actuality programme
No Place like Home, Carte Blanche, Speak Out.

Best magazine show
Carte Blanche, All Access Mzansi, Pasella, Headline.

Best music show
Afro Café, Club 808, Jam Alley vs Crew.

Best talk show
My Top 10: Life in Music, Redi on Mzansi, Tonight with Trevor Noah.

Best reality show
Sharp Shooter, One Day Leader, Jam Sandwich.

Best game show
Noot vir Noot, Jam Alley vs Crew, Kom ons Kareoke.

Best drama show
Sokhulu & Partners, Zone 14, Intersexions.

Best comedy
Gauteng Maboneng, Stokvel, Ga Re Dumele.

Best soap (as determined by viewers' vote)
Generations, The Wild, Rhythm City, Scandal!, Isidingo, Muvhango.

Best actor in a drama series
Thato Moraka, Katleho Ramapakela, Siyabonga Radebe (all for Intersexions).

Best actress in a drama series
Lindiwe Ntuli (Fallen), Lungelo Dladla (Intersextions), Linda Sokhulu (Sokhulu & Partners).

Best actor in a soap
Mduduze Mabaso (Rhythm City), Tumisho Masha (The Wild), Shona Ferguson (Scandal!)

Best actress in a soap
Karin van der Laag (Isidingo), Michelle Botes (Isidingo), Lele Ledwaba (The Wild), Louise Barnes (Scandal!)

Best soap ensemble cast
Isidingo, Rhythm City, The Wild.



  • Marius - 2012-02-17 16:54

    What a load of crap.

  • Jannie - 2012-03-05 14:40

    Thanks goodness I don't have to watch any of the above load of crap!

  • pages:
  • 1