In partnership with

Jimmy Fallon to lead honours as Jay Leno wins top humour prize

2014-08-29 04:00

Washington - Jimmy Fallon will lead top comedians in saluting his Tonight Show predecessor Jay Leno with the nation's top humour prize in October at the Kennedy Center in Washington.

The performing arts center announced on Wednesday that Fallon will join Chelsea Handler, Jerry Seinfeld, Wanda Sykes, Betty White, Kevin Eubanks and others in honouring Leno with the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor.

Leno will receive the prize during a performance by his fellow comedians on 19 October in Washington. The show will be broadcast nationally on 23 November on PBS stations.

The prize recognises people who have had an impact on American society through their humour and social commentary in the tradition of Samuel Clemens, the writer and satirist better known as Twain. Past recipients include Carol Burnett, Ellen DeGeneres and Bill Cosby.

Read more on:    jimmy fallon  |  ellen degeneres  |  tv  |  celebrities publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.