Entries open for African Journalist Awards with new category added

2016-03-02 19:00

Cape Town – Entries have opened for the CNN MultiChoice African Journalist Awards 2016 with the 21st edition that is again expanding, adding another new category to recognise the excellent work of a young African journalist.

Journalists in print, online, radio and television across Africa can enter the continent's most prestigious journalism competition at www.africa.cnnjournalistaward.com that added the new category this year of The Maggie Eales Young Journalist Award.

The award is named in honour of the late Maggie Eales, a CNN executive and former journalist who during her 20 year career at CNN was the driving force behind the development and growth of the African Journalist Awards.

This new award will recognise a young journalist starting out, and telling an impactful story with conviction. A journalist in this category must be born after 1 January 1990.

"Africa is an increasingly important part of the global story, and CNN reflects that," says Tony Maddox, the executive vice president and managing director of CNN International (DStv 401).

"We are committed to the African story, not just editorially, but also in terms of supporting its own journalistic enterprise through the CNN MultiChoice African Journalist Awards. I am immensely proud of our long-term commitment to Africa and there is no better example of that than these Awards".

"The longevity of these Awards is indicative of how these awards continue to play a meaningful role for the advancement of outstanding journalism across the continent," says Tim Jacobs, MultiChoice Africa CEO.

"I'm confident that the 2016 installment of the Awards will continue to unearth extraordinary African talent whose tireless work and search for the truth may otherwise not receive the recognition it deserves".

The categories in which African journalists in any medium can enter this year include the:

• Culture Award
• Innovation Reporting Award
• Economics & Business Award
• Features Award
• Francophone General News Award – Electronic Media
• Energy & Infrastructure Award
• Mohamed Amin Photographic Award
• Health & Medical Award
• News Impact Award
• Portuguese Language General News Awards
• Press Freedom Award
• Sport Reporting Award
• Environment Award
• The Maggie Eales Young Journalist Award

Out of these entries, the independent judging panel will choose the overall winner – the CNN MultiChoice African Journalist 2016.

Read more on:    multichoice

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.