Mafikizolo clean up at SAMA 20 with eight awards!

2014-04-29 08:47


Talk about a clean sweep.

Mafikizolo are back and made sure everyone knows when they walked away with a total of eight SAMAs.

Their awards included:  Album of the Year, Duo or Group of the Year, Best Pop Album, Best Collaboration, Best Selling Ring-back Tone, Best Selling Full-track Download and Best Selling Mobile Music Download of the Year.

And in the most hotly contested category of the night, the Kia Record of the Year, Mafikizolo featuring Uhuru beat out stiff competition to win the public SMS vote for their mammoth hit song Khona.

Here's a full list of the winners:

Album of the Year

Mafikizolo Reunited

Duo or Group of the Year Mafikizolo Reunited

Female Artist of the Year Zahara Phendula

Male Artist of the Year Kabomo Memory Remains

Newcomer of the Year Naima Kay Umsebenzi

Best Rock Album Van Coke Kartel Bloed, Sweet & Trane

Best Pop Album Mafikizolo Reunited

Beste Pop Album (Afrikaans) Karlien van Jaarsveld Uitklophou

Best Adult Contemporary Album Shaun Jacobs Love Can

Beste Kontemporêre Musiek Album Elvis Blue Afrikaans

Best African Adult Album Zonke Give and Take Live

Best Rap Album iFani I Believes in Me (1st Quadrant)

Best Kwaito Album Big Nuz Made in Africa

Best Dance Album Mi Casa Su Casa

Best Traditional Faith Music Album Rebecca Bayos'Khomba

Best Collaboration Mafikizolo Ft May D Happiness

Best Selling Album Zahara Phendula

Best Maskandi Album Thokozani Langa Inyakanyaka

Best Jazz Album Shane Cooper Oscillations

lifetime Achievement Awards Ladysmith Black Mambazo Phuzekhemisi

International Achievement Award Ladysmith Black Mambazo SAMA 20 Industry Awards

Best Contemporary Faith Music Album Nqubeko Mbatha Sentiments of a Worshiper

Best Traditional Album Dr. Thomas Chauke Na Shinyori Sisters Shimatsatsa No 32

Best Alternative Album Nakhane Touré Brave Confusion

Best R&B/Soul/Reggae Album The Soil Reflections Live in Joburg

Best Classical and/or Instrumental Album Guy Buttery Live in KwaZulu

Best Live DVD Zonke Give and Take Live

Best Music Video of the Year Kyle Lewis Sleepwalker by The Parlotones, Khuli Chana & Jon Savage

•Best Producer of the Year Darryl Torr Yes/No/Grey by Gangs of Ballet

Best Engineer of the Year Peter Auret Pimp My Piano by Charl du Plessis

Remix of the Year Oskido Tsa Ma Ndebele

Best Selling DVD Joyous Celebration Grateful Vol.17

Best Selling Ring-back Tone Mafikizolo Khona

Best Selling Full-track Download Mafikizolo Khona

Best Selling Total Downloads Mafikizolo Khona

Highest Airplay of the Year 2013 DJ Kent ft. The Arrows Spin My World Around


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.