And the Comics' Choice Awards nominees are...

2017-07-13 12:00


Robby Collins (Photo: Instagram/RobbyCollins)

Johannesburg – The nominees for the annual Savanna Comics’ Choice Awards were announced to the media at a press lunch in Johannesburg on Wednesday. 

Comedians gathered at Katzy’s in Rosebank to find out who would make it into the 11 categories, and stand a chance to walk away with a Waldo (the Savanna CCA statuette).

What makes these awards stand out is the fact that comedians vote for their fellow comedians, ultimately determining who will be nominated and then go on to win. 

Take a look at some snaps from the event here:

Look who we bumped into at the #SavannaCCA nominee announcements. It's Chris Forrest!

A post shared by Channel24 (@channel24_sa) on

We had a chat with @lihlemsimang. Look out for it on The Juice soon. #SavannaCCA

A post shared by Channel24 (@channel24_sa) on

Legendary comedian Cyril Green gave us his top tips on how to make it in the industry. #SavannaCCA

A post shared by Channel24 (@channel24_sa) on

The hilarious @skhumba_official. Follow him! #savannacca

A post shared by Channel24 (@channel24_sa) on

And now, the moment we’ve all been waiting for. Here are your nominees:

Breakthrough Award

Skhumba Hlophe

Alfred Adriaan

Loyiso Gola

Robby Collins

Tumi Morake


Savanna Newcomer of the Year

Thabiso Mhlongo

Tsitsi Chiumya

Bongani Dube

Eric Jansen



Intermediate Award

Ebenhaezer Dibakwane

Virgil Prins

Glen Biderman-Pam

Noko Moswete

Mo Mothebe


Non-English Comic Award


Skhumba Hlophe

Celeste Ntuli

Mashabela Galane

Thapelo King Flat Mametja


Flying Solo Award

Skhumba Hlophe

Carvin H Goldstone

Celeste Ntuli

Loyiso Gola

Mashabela Galane


Comics’ Pen Award

Mojak Lehoko

Trevor Noah

Muzi Dlamini

Lazola Gola

Karabo Lediga


The Nando's Best Friend of Comedy

Goliath & Goliath

David Kau - Blacks Only

Carvin H Goldstone

On Fire Comedy

Armchair - Gino Fernandez


Savanna Comic of the Year

Skhumba Hlophe

Loyiso Gola

Carvin H Goldstone

Celeste Ntuli

Kagiso KG Mokgadi


Savanna Pan-African Comic of the Year

Patrick Idringi (aka Salvado) from Uganda

Bright Okpocha (aka Basketmouth) from Nigeria

Carl Joshua Ncube from Zimbabwe

Tshepo “Masapo” Mpiti from Lesotho

Fernando Filipe from Angola


The Audience Choice Award

Elton Mduduzi Ntuli (unique voting code: 17163)

Pelepele Mchunu (unique voting code: 58085)

Thapelo Maila (unique voting code: 72116)

Luphelo Kodwa (unique voting code: 40009)

Thabang ER (unique voting code: 68906)