SA’s top comedians honoured at Savanna Comics’ Choice Awards

2016-09-04 11:50


Tumi Morake
Tumi Morake won the Edgars Comic of the Year Award. (Photo: Supplied)

Johannesburg - South Africa confirmed its place on the cutting edge of comedy on Saturday night, as 10 of the country’s funniest citizens walked away with the most prestigious award local comedy has to offer – a beautifully crafted Waldo statuette.

The Savanna Comics’ Choice Awards featured not only the cream of local comedy but also funnymen from the rest of the continent, and had audiences ROFLing from the outset.

"This year’s show was entirely scripted by a team of comic writers, led by Warren Robertson, who approached us and wanted to be part of the awards," said John Vlismas, co-producer of the evening’s show.

Ebenhaezer Dibakwane

(Ebenhaezer Dibakwane. Photo: Supplied)

Ebenhaezer Dibakwane walked away with the coveted Savanna Newcomer’s Award while Goliath & Goliath took the Best Friend of Comedy gong for the second consecutive year.

The award for Intermediate Comic went to Yaaseen Barnes, a former recipient of the Newcomer’s Award.

Mashabela Galane won the Non-English Award while the Savanna Audience Choice Waldo was awarded to Summary.

Kagiso Lediga walked off with the Comics Pen Waldo for the second time, after winning this category in 2014, and Virgil Prins was named Breakthrough Act of 2016. Prins was unfortunately not able to accept his award in person as he is currently performing in Korea.

Kagiso Lediga

(Kagiso Lediga. Photo: Supplied)

The Flying Solo Award went to crowd-favourite Skhumba Hlophe while Tumi Morake finally broke the curse of always being a bridesmaid, never the bride, when she walked off with the Edgars Comic of the Year Award.

Casper de Vries was honoured with The Lifetime Achiever Award.

Ndumiso Lindi announced a brand new award – Pan-African Comic of the Year – that will be open to comedians from the rest of Africa from next year.

Read more on: comedy