All the winners at the 2017 Saftas

2017-03-18 22:42

Johannesburg – South African film and TV stars were celebrated and honoured at the 11th annual Saftas ceremony held at Sun City.

The biggest weekend of the local awards season kicked off on Thursday when the first awards were handed. 

PICS: Saftas hands out first awards

On Saturday night during a live broadcast on SABC2 small screen and big screen stars received their Golden Horns.

The ceremony was hosted by Katlego Maboe and Thando Thabethe.

The Road won the Best TV Soap/Telenovela award and Isibaya was voted Most Popular soap by the public.

Junaid Ahmed and Lydia Mokgokoloshi received Lifetime Achievement Award and Thapelo Mokoena was the recipient of the Youth Achiever Award.

Sink won Best Feature film.

Here is an abbreviated list of winners:


Best TV Soap/Telenovela
The Road

Best Achievement in Directing - TV Soap/Telenovela
High Rollers

Best Actor - TV Soap/Telenovela
Anthony Coleman 

Best Actress - TV Soap/Telenovela
Tina Jaxa 

Best Supporting Actor - TV Soap/Telenovela
Mandla Gaduka

Best Supporting Actress - TV Soap/Telenovela
Linda Sebezo - Sharon Dlamini

Most Popular TV Soap

Best TV Drama

Best Achievement in Directing - TV Drama

Best Actor - TV Drama
Jerry Mofokeng - Heist

Best Actress - TV Drama
Tiffany Barbuzano 

Best Supporting Actor - TV Drama
Warren Masemola 

Best Supporting Actress - TV Drama
Jana Cilliers 

Best TV Comedy
Puppet Nation ZANews

Best Actress - TV Comedy
Chantal Herman

Best Actor - TV Comedy
James Borthwick

Best Supporting Actress - TV Comedy
Sylvaine Strike

Best Supporting Actor - TV Comedy
Reabetswe Rangaka

Best Achievement in Directing - TV Comedy
Alex Fynn and Johan Vermaak, Puppet Nation ZANews

Best Talk Show
Real Talk with Anele

Best TV Presenter
Thembisa Mdoda


Best Actor - Feature Film
Dann-Jaques Mouton 

Best Actress - Feature Film
Shoki Mokgape 

Best Supporting Actor - Feature Film
Abdurahgmaan Adams 

Best Supporting Actress - Feature Film
Hlubi Mboya 

Hlubi Mboya wins the Golden Horn for Best Supporting Actress - Feature Film #SAFTAs11

A post shared by SAFTAs (@saftassa) on

Best Achievement in Directing – Feature Film
Oliver Schmitz

Best Feature Film

Best Documentary Feature
Nobody's Died Laughing

Best Student Film 
Finding Freedom

Best Short Film
The Suit

Lifetime Achievement Awards
Junaid Ahmed 
Lydia Mokgokoloshi

Youth Achiever Award recipient
Thapelo Mokoena

The Youth Achiever Award goes to Thapelo Mokoena @mokoenalive #SAFTAs11

A post shared by SAFTAs (@saftassa) on

READ MORE: Everything that happened at Saftas 2017

Read more on:    saftas 2017  |  movies  |  tv

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.